{Parenting} Are my children ready to be called by God?

By: Cindy Morrone

“Don’t let anyone look down on you because you are young, but set an example for the believers in speech, in life, in love, in faith and in purity.” (1Timothy 4:12)

I have cherished reading the story of Timothy, missionary and pastor; held precious by his mentor Paul. He was a young man of faith, learning from one of the best and living to minister to others. “I have been reminded of your sincere faith, which first lived in your grandmother Lois and in your mother Eunice and, I am persuaded, now lives in you also.” (2 Timothy 1:5)

As I watch and see how my daughters are growing spiritually, I am reminded of Timothy, and remember that they are never too young to live out their faith, as an example to those God has placed in their lives. Like Timothy struggled with timidity and how others perceived him; they too struggle with their own hindrances. Those trials that come, so their faith, “….—of greater worth than gold, which perishes even though refined by fire—may be proved genuine and may result in praise, glory and honour when Jesus Christ is revealed.” (1 Peter 1:7)

I pray that their faith will be refined and genuine, and then the trials actually happen….

This last week a very difficult lesson was being taught. As a Mother, it near broke my heart to see my precious one have to go through such a time of testing, and mess up along the way.

As a Mother, I wanted it to go away for her; I didn’t want her to see her sin and recognize it and battle with it, instead, I wanted to wrestle and defeat it for her, myself. But as I pressed into our Lord, called on His name and prayed earnestly, it was clear I couldn’t fight this one for her. She had to go through the refining fire and cry out to her King!

God, ever so faithful, quickly began His good work and she started to make choices that reflected those changes and beautiful fruit was seen as a reward! Near immediate fulfillment! Praise be to God! We know this is just another step in her journey, but what could bless a Mama’s heart more than to see her hold hands with her Master and surrender at His leading?

Dear Heavenly and Gracious Father,
Thank You Lord, for the gift of our precious ones! It is truly our heart’s desire Lord to point them to their Maker by praying for, exemplifying and disciplining them in Your ways. And we ask for courage Lord, to not fight their battles, to not take away the fight, but instead as You lead, to come alongside them as they take those steps in their own spiritual journeys. We trust You Lord in all things; even with our children’s walks. Amen.

Leave a Reply

