{Faith} A different approach: a lesson from a 5-year-old!

By: Mandy Hill

For everything there is a season, a time for every activity under heaven. (Ecclesiastes 3:1)

Wednesday nights are one of my favourite nights of the whole week; until they’re over. Let me explain. Wednesday nights at my church are the busiest night of the week. People from all over the community join us for various programming; ages ranging from newborn baby all the way up to senior citizen. It’s a great night out for the entire family!

It goes south when it’s over; when the fun is done…..and so are our kids.

This past Wednesday night was no exception. In fact, to make it worse on this mama, it was raining buckets outside! My husband was still dealing with something inside, so I ventured outside to buckle everyone into their seats in an effort to save some time. To my dismay, my children dislike the rain as much as I do; except, they were not as good at keeping their sentiments to themselves.

image

Upon walking outside into the soggy, cool night, my daughter proceeded to enter a mode we humorously refer to as “freeze frame”, and she insisted on being carried to the car. This level of unjust was just not ok with my oldest boy. He stopped midway to the car, and too insisted on being carried, because her being carried and him not….was just not fair. While making deals and scheduling ‘lifts’ to the car in the rain, my youngest son takes it upon himself to go on a little parking lot expedition. When I caught on to his heading in the opposite direction, I began waddling quickly his way (yes, I’m pregnant too!) to catch him. After many moments passed, and many unsolicited whines comments like “Mommy, my nose got wet!” and “Mommy, can you hurry up, I’m getting colder” this drenched and cold mama finally buckled her own seat belt, cranked the heat and thanked God for the chance to finally rest her head.

My endeavour to save a little time turned into what seemed like a game of billards: mommy the sole player, and three little blonde-haired balls. My goal quickly changed to sinking that 8-ball and declaring a victorious ‘game over.’ Oy.

image

To lighten the mood and distract my little ones from their soggy, cold little bodies I began to sing:
“Rain, rain, go away….come again another day!”

My oldest boy perked up and summoned his weary mama to change her song to a better one! “Ok, Ben” I said. “What song is better? Can you sing it?”

Nearly in unison, my oldest son and my daughter began to sing:
“Oh Mr. Sun, sun, Mr golden sun, please shine down on me! Oh Mr sun, sun, Mr golden sun, hiding behind the tree. These little children are asking you, to please come out so they can play with you. Oh! Mr sun, sun, Mr golden sun, please shine down on me!!!!”

image

My heart immediately realized the negativity in MY approach, and the positive twist in my sons alternative. How often do we do this sisters? When the rain falls hard and fast we begin to wish the rain away. However, what if we were enjoy the rain for just a few moments, and tuck away the promise that the sun WILL return.

The Lord wants us to experience joy and life; to the full. “The thief’s purpose is to steal and kill and destroy. My purpose is to give them a rich and satisfying life.” John 10:10

So, sisters, don’t let the enemy steal your joy with a few rainy days! Live a life filled with joy and hope that can be found only in our Lord, Jesus Christ.

Heavenly Father, thank You for the reminder to live a hope-filled life from the mouth of my precious babe! I pray that even on the rainiest days you will help me to see the hope of the sun, and settle Your joy into my heart. Thank You for Your many blessings. In Jesus name, amen.

Leave a Reply

