{Faith} From Afraid to COURAGEOUS!

By: Mandy Hill

David answered, “You come at me with sword and spear and battle-ax. I come at you in the name of God-of-the-Angel-Armies, the God of Israel’s troops, whom you curse and mock. This very day God is handing you over to me. I’m about to kill you, cut off your head, and serve up your body and the bodies of your Philistine buddies to the crows and coyotes. The whole earth will know that there’s an extraordinary God in Israel. And everyone gathered here will learn that God doesn’t save by means of sword or spear. The battle belongs to God —he’s handing you to us on a platter!” (1 Samuel 17:45-47)

I love this story about David and Goliath! David’s courage to take on the giant in his life, is incredible to me. (You can read the full story in 1 Samuel 17)

Like David I have faced many giants in my lifetime; except unfortunately many times, with much less courage. I have missed many opportunities because of my decision to walk away in comfort, rather than stand up to the giant.

Giants come packaged in many ways. Sometimes in human form, but not always. Anxiety, depression, addiction, fear, loss, and insecurity are other giants; to name a few. Are you facing a giant in your life?!

Let me share with you a time I recall being stuck in the shadow of my giant.

Immediately following high school I began taking classes at a local university. I had enrolled in the university’s reputable commerce program and I was excited to embark on this journey to a degree. All was well until around thanksgiving. The excitement of being in university had began to wear off and I was beginning to realize my dislike for the material I was supposed to be enjoying. After all, I choose this degree.

image

I wrestled through, struggling miserably. I had high academic standing throughout my entire education thus far, and yet I now found myself on an academic downward spiral. My dislike grew in intensity and yet I still plugged through. My decreasing marks only increased my insecurity and fears. I began to wonder what was wrong with me?! Why was I not good enough to complete this program.

I did end up stepping away from the program, but not without first sewing a few damaging labels onto my heart. Failure. Stupid. Not good enough. These labels would remain for years to come.

You see, the giants I was battling: pride, insecurity, doubt, fear, and rejection were only there because I allowed them to be. When I actually stopped and listened for the voice of God, hearing His direction brought me out of the shadows of my giants and into His wonderful light.

image

Fast forward a few years later to when I courageously took a step in my faith to defeat those giants. After spending copious amounts of time listening for God’s direction over what I would study; I enrolled in college for the second time. This time, in nursing. I became determined to chase hard after His plan for me, and battle those giants as they taunted me along the way. Two years after enrolling in college I walked the stage with my diploma in hand, in addition to giving the valedictory address.

Jesus looked at them intently and said, “Humanly speaking, it is impossible. But with God everything is possible.” (Matthew 19:26)

image

Heavenly Father, thank You so much for Your promises. We know, God, that with You ALL things are possible; and we know that You never leave us or forsake us. Please help us conquer the giants in our lives with grace, in Your name. Thank You, Lord. Amen.

14 comments

  1. I love how you pointed out that giants come in many shapes and sizes. I lived many years in fear of the “what if”- and while God is still working on me – I do see progress! God is doing great things!!! Thank you for sharing! Have a great day!

    Like

  2. It takes true courage to follow a dream to fruition, proud of you and the God in you makes me roar with praises of His faithfulness. I too am believing to go back to school or the alternate route program. Thankful for your story. 🙂

    Like

    • Congratulations to you and best of luck with your future studies! Be bold, sister, as you take this leap of faith. You can be certain our God will be with you every moment, every step of the way!!

      Like

  3. Amazing….! Thank you so much for sharing your heart. My daughter is graduating from High School this evening, and this post was so encouraging to me…it will help me if I ever need to encourage while she is in College! way to Keep on Keeping on.
    Blessings, Teresa

    Like

  4. Great testament of your courage! When we try to take on our giants alone, it is then we sew the hurtful labels on our hearts. I am so glad you sought Gods direction in your life, and now you have one of the most awarding careers there are! Nursing is a great way to let your light for God shine to others! I’m hoping to be a RN someday! I’m praying for you sister!

    Like

  5. I had those same Giants and I did walk away and never returned. I wanted to be a nurse more than anything but always felt those labels stabbing me in the back. I’ve always regretted it! At the time, I was not a Christian and did not have God to fight my battles. Now I do, and I too love the story of David and Goliath! I love growing and getting closer and closer to God. Thanks for sharing your story!

    Like

  6. I liked how you said you spent “copious amounts of time listening for God’s direction .” I have a hard time just being still and waiting for God’s timing- He’s working with me on that; my favorite scripture right now is Psaim 62:5: ” For God alone, O my soul, wait in silence, for my hope is from him” (ESV). Thank you for the encouragement !
    Blessings!

    Like

  7. Love your inspiring story and congratulations. I walked out of college too when I broke a hip and could not return and one thing led to another. But like you I went back courageously when my kids started college and got a degree with Magna Cum Laude honors when I was 54 right after my daughter. So glad you conquered your giants. Debbie W. (Proverbs 31 Ministry OBS Team)

    Like

    • What an inspiring story, Debbie!! I have often thought about what it might look like to go back and further my education. Right now I am enjoying my babies, 3 of them with one more on the way! It’s still fun to dream, dreaming is free 🙂 Maybe someday!
      Bless you!

      Like

Leave a comment