{Parenting} Are our Children Developing Essential Habits?

By: Cindy Morrone

“Jesus said, “Let the little children come to me, and do not hinder them, for the kingdom of heaven belongs to such as these.” (Matthew 19:14)

I started to notice it when I heard them say, “Amen!” at the end of bedtime prayers. Or when I watched them reach out their tiny, hands to embrace others around the table before grace. These little things seen, that are confirmation of a beginning relationship with the Lord.

I am certain these habits started to develop long before the ‘fruit’ was witnessed. As they watch and learn from our example, they are beholding what an everyday, practical follower of God looks like, sounds like and acts like.

And I have to ask myself some serious questions.

Am I setting a good example? Have I made, my God, my priority? Can my relationship with Him be seen and heard?

I need to also consider whether or not I am providing opportunity for my precious ones to grow in their relationship with Him. Am I praying with them? Are we saying grace?

I require them to brush their teeth regularly, get dressed and wash their hands. They have scheduled chores and homework assignments. There is planned time to practice their piano and a wake-up and a bedtime.

Am I then also, fostering a consistent, dedicated, commitment to their God?

As lead by my Abba, Father for a few years now, on our white board daily, reads something like this;
• Devotions
• Chores
• Ready for school
• School

Devotions are always on the top of the list. Before their day is started, they are asked to read the Word of God. And the habit forming has progressed, as they grow. Just recently we added, “blessings” to devotions. They are asked to write out 5 things they are thankful for after they read their devotions.

I was so taken aback these past few weeks when I started to have them read assigned scripture and ‘narrate’ or tell back in their own words what stood out to them most. They were lead to pray before reading the scripture and to ask the Holy Spirit to lead and guide them in their understanding of the passage. What they came up with, was amazing; a personal and beautiful awareness of God’s Word in their lives!

“For the word of God is living and active. Sharper than any double-edged sword, it penetrates even to dividing soul and spirit, joints and marrow; it judges the thoughts and attitudes of the heart.” (Hebrews 4:12)

Your habit forming will not look like ours, as we are all lead by God’s direction for our families.
What’s really important is that we are considering how we encourage our precious ones in their coming to know the Lord, setting this habit above all others.

Be blessed this very day as you ask the Lord how to foster this essential habit!

Dear Heavenly and Gracious Father,
Thank You so much for the gift of our precious ones; Lord, may we never take them for granted or take lightly the responsibility of raising them up. We ask Lord, that You would help us to show them You. Give us amazing ways; that are personalized for each of them, to grow in their relationship with You. We ask all these things in Your Son’s holy and precious name. Amen.

Leave a Reply

