{Faith}A quenchable thirst

By: Cindy Morrone

One of my most treasured Bible stories is about the Samaritan woman (John 4:1-42) at the well that met up with a man that changed her life. She had come to draw water at a time of day where as to most likely avoid others, but this day there was a man at the well and the man asked her to give him a drink.

This startled her for so many desperate reasons. He was of a kind that was to despise hers; He knew of her sinful circumstances and yet, He reached out to her and offered her an alternative. I love this story so much because I was like her.

“Jesus answered, “Everyone who drinks this water will be thirsty again, but whoever drinks the water I give him will never thirst. Indeed, the water I give him will become in him a spring of water welling up to eternal life.” “(John 4:13 &14)

I was so much like her, living in sin and hiding from my shame, until I met Him.

..a spring of water welling up to eternal life….

And when I confessed with my mouth, “Jesus is Lord,” and believed in my heart that God raised him from the dead, I was saved! (Romans 10:9) I received eternal life!!

This story recently came to my thoughts again, as I was praying during feelings of doubt, fear and insecurities. And as I cried out to my Lord, He met me again and whispered a reminder that I shall thirst no more. I have everything I need in Christ no matter the circumstances, no matter what I can ‘see’ with my eyes, no matter the situation. He is all that I need and His promises and faithfulness cause victory over all!

Dear Heavenly and Gracious Father,
We cannot in our mere words thank You for the offer and gift of salvation; eternal life. For forgiveness that comes by Your shed blood. That we can come to You, and You are waiting for us, just as we are in our sin and shame. Lord, God we confess with our mouths that “Jesus is Lord” and we believe in our hearts that You are raised from the dead and seated at the right hand of our Father. As we confess we have faith that eternal life is ours and life abundantly (John 10:10). We don’t want to thirst anymore! Amen!

Leave a Reply

