{Parenting} Capture her heart

By: Cindy Morrone

They are all ready! As I write, there is a large, overstuffed suitcase and a smaller bag that just carries treats, lined up at our door. They have been preparing for this outing for over a week now and have packed for several days. Their excitement is barely contained! They are set and ready to go to an overnight Church camp! (May the Lord, bless all you in children’s ministry—thank You for all you do!)

This Mama is so excited for them! I will miss them so much. Letting them go is always a hesitation for me but that’s all about me and not them. So I have prepared too. I have checked and double-checked over their belongings to make sure they have all they need. I have made my lists and given my suggestions on ‘how to have fun’. You know the usual Mom stuff—keep hydrated; wear sunscreen. LOL! I have written my notes to them for each day that they are away (I was able to do that ahead of time, this time) and have purposefully tried to connect with them, this week before.

And I have prayed non-stop for them.

I am so excited for them and am expecting that God will reveal Himself to each of them in an amazing way! I have asked the Lord to draw them nearer and nearer to Him; show them His giftings and purposes for them. I have prayed that they would be a blessing to any of the others going; those that God has laid on their heart.

And I have asked that He would capture their hearts.

There is so much after their hearts and devotion; there is so much vying for their attention and affection; so many traps to detour them from God’s best.

Like David, I pray they would cry out,

“I have seen you in the sanctuary and beheld your power and your glory. Because your love is better than life, my lips will glorify you. I will praise you as long as I live, and in your name I will lift up my hands. My soul will be satisfied as with the richest of foods; with singing lips my mouth will praise you.” (Psalm 63: 2-5)

I pray….

Dear Heavenly and Gracious Father,
Thank You so much for the gift of children and the privilege of parenting. Thank You for all those who have committed themselves to Your service and the children’s ministries, I pray a special anointing on them. We pray for protection over our children, especially their hearts; that no weapon forged against them will prevail (Isaiah 54:17). Lord, help us to not interfere with Your meetings with our children, instead show us how to live a life dependent on and committed to our first Love. And we pray all these things in Your Son’s holy and precious name. Amen!!

Leave a Reply

