{Faith} Do I measure up?

By: Cindy Morrone

Have you ever said, “I could never, ever do that?”

If you would have told me even 5 years ago that I would one day stay-at home to teach my daughters, I would have never believed you! And when I introduce myself now to people and mention that I am a stay-at home, homeschooling Mom, a common response is, “I could never do that!”

It seems like a usual response for us to say, “No. I can’t!” before we would ever consider saying, “Yes!”

I remember when the Lord first laid homeschooling on my heart. It was an answer to a plea for help; to discern what to do for my girls and what was best for them. My initial response was, “No! There is no way I can do that Lord!” I thought, I don’t have what it takes; I don’t know how to teach them, and I don’t know what they should be learning.

I prayed, prayed and prayed and yet, the answer to my plea remained a calling to homeschool.

I responded,” No,” initially because I measured out how much capacity I had at the time of the calling. For certain, I didn’t have what it takes. It wasn’t time yet, to have all I needed from the Lord to fulfill this mission. He was only looking for an obedient and serving heart; one that sought His will and would sacrificially serve for His purposes.

The Lord used this scripture for my husband and I as confirmation in our homeschooling endeavor, “The LORD said to Abram, “Leave your country, your people and your father’s household and go to the land I will show you.” (Genesis 12:1)

We just needed to step out in obedience…. He didn’t tell us where we would end up, just to go and He would show us the way.

We chose to step out and have just completed our third year of homeschooling! And He has been completely faithful; He has made the seemingly impossible…..possible!! He has given us all; all that we have ever needed to continue to walk in His will! The blessings are in abundance!
“Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us, to him be the glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, for ever and ever! Amen.” (Ephesians 3:20 & 21)

Have you received a specific calling in your life and you are reluctant because you realize that you don’t have what it takes? Can I encourage you? You won’t have all it takes until it is needed. And then, step by step as you walk in faith and in obedience the Lord will provide and miraculous signs and wonders will be witnessed! He has all you need to be victorious in this calling! He cannot fail!

Dear Heavenly and Gracious Father,
Thank You Lord, God for loving us so much that You don’t leave us where we are, but continually draw us nearer and nearer to You, changing us from glory to glory. Father, we only want Your will in our lives and we ask that You would lead, guide and direct us. We ask Lord, for the faith to wipe out any fear and thoughts contrary to Your will in our lives. We know Lord that it isn’t about us anyway, we will certainly not have what it takes but when we are willing vessels for You; Your hands and feet, the miraculous happens!

2 comments

Leave a Reply

