{Parenting} Never give up!

By: Cindy Morrone

“Therefore, my dear brothers, stand firm. Let nothing move you. Always give yourselves fully to the work of the Lord, because you know that your labour in the Lord is not in vain.” (1 Corinthians 15: 58)

I am so excited my orchid (one and only) is going to bloom again!! These, exotically colourful flowers that burst forth from a single stem are one of my favourite plants! Regrettably I was given an orchid several years ago and when the blooms fell off, I threw it away! I thought it was finished; done! Now I know differently.

While visiting my Grandma, I noticed the orchid that she was given. We admired its beautiful flowers and then visit after visit, I noticed that the flowers were gone yet, she kept the plant. After seeing this plant with only leaves and seemingly doing nothing, I finally asked her why she kept it. She explained that she held onto this plant in its dormant state because she hoped it would blossom once again. And sure enough, it faithfully grew forth another burst of petals.

I was given a second chance in another orchid, also a gift and I have held onto this one. I have tended to it (thankfully, it’s low maintenance) and kept it, despite its appearance of only waxy leaves and wiry roots, all in green. It seems like it has taken a very, long time for this little bud to climb to the heights, but it is there and soon, very soon, I will witness extreme beauty.

My Grandmother, one of my most treasured spiritual mentors, wisely knew that just because we cannot see the blooms, if we continue to tend to the plant and not discard it, new life can spring forth. She is a woman who has never given up, on any of us! We have certainly given her reason too, but she has never stopped praying and directing us to the One and only True Light! Not a single one of us has been relinquished.

It is during times like this last week, that I can become so weary of parenting. It has been a week of trying times, repeated trials and multiple fights with discouragement, and I was tempted to throw up the white flag in surrender. But just noticing this bloom has reminded me to press on and never give up! That although I may not see the bloom right away that if I don’t “… become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up.” (Galatians 6:9)

Dear Heavenly and Gracious Father,
Thank You Lord God for the precious gift of parenting! I honestly, thank You for the trying times because it is then, that I most turn to You on my knees. And You are ever so faithful and supply all that I need and provide amazing insights of Your divinity. Help us Lord, to never, ever give up hope; to become so weary that we give up, in Jesus’ Name. Instead, may we with You, ‘fight the good fight of faith…. ‘(1 Timothy 6:12)

Leave a Reply

