{Marriage} To nag or not to nag…..

By: Cindy Morrone

“Sal, it’s 60 kms here!” “Sal, watch for that car!” “Why are you parking here?”

“A quarrelsome wife is like a constant dripping on a rainy day.” Proverbs 27:15

I heard myself, go on and on… I tried, in between the nagging, to rationalize in my mind that I was saying these things for his betterment; for the wellbeing of our family. We can’t afford a speeding ticket. Our most precious cargo is in our van with us and we could never ‘afford’ an accident. I try to park as close to our destination as possible to ease the burden of traversing a busy parking lot and the weight of lugging the children and their wears!

As I continued on, I could plainly see that his pressure was rising and instead of being a help, I was being a hindrance.

“Better to live in a desert than with a quarrelsome and ill- tempered wife.” (Proverbs 21:19)

The Lord gently reminded me that, this was not my place. So right then and there I apologized to my husband and to my God and just…..stopped. And instead I prayed for my husband. I prayed that he would continue to walk in the ways of the Lord that his wisdom, direction, and guidance would come from the Lord and the Lord alone. I also asked for help to submit, respect, and love my husband as the Lord intended.

We arrived at our destination, unharmed and without any catastrophe and most importantly, in His peace, instead of my caused dissension.

“A wife of noble character who can find? She is worth far more than rubies. Her husband has full confidence in her and lacks nothing of value. She brings him good not harm, all the days of her life.” (Proverbs 31:10-12)

Dear Heavenly and Gracious Father,
Thank You sweet, Lord for the beautiful gift of marriage! We ask for forgiveness for all the times we have stepped above our place in this ordained togetherness. Help us Lord, to love, respect and submit to our husbands as You have intended. We need Your help Lord and we willingly lay down our intentions to be in obedience to You. Amen!

2 comments

  1. So beautiful! Thanks for sharing. It’s encouraging to hear others who struggle in this area and how God’s word can guide us as wives and put us back on track.

    Like

Leave a Reply

