{Guest Post} The Next Chapter…

Written by: Kathy Mizen

I’ve always thought I knew what the next chapter of my life would look like. As a single 38 year-old woman that chapter always included a husband, a nice home and family. But over the last year God has been orchestrating his own story for my life and it’s nothing that I could have ever imagined. This fall I am starting that new chapter, I’m leaving what I know here in Canada to pursue missions long term in Honduras.

The shorten story is this. This past January I was given a 3 month leave from my children’s pastor role in Windsor, ON to go and work at Schools of Hope in Tegucigalpa, Honduras. While there I was seeking God for direction for my life, asking Him to show me what the next chapter would look like. Since I was a young girl, I’ve always had a heart for missions – writing missionaries in Thailand, sponsoring a child through Compassion and dreaming of someday going overseas. In February, while I was in a Spanish church service up in the mountains of Tegucigalpa, I asked God ‘Is this the city where you want me to serve?’ A few minutes later I felt a peace flood over me that I can’t explain well with words. I heard God say ‘Yes, this is where I want you.’ Since that day I’ve had a peace and a confidence in my spirit that I know has only come from the Lord. I’ve quit my job, sold my house and I’m working through all the details to make my way back to Honduras this fall as a full time Global Worker with the PAOC.

Is this the new chapter I’ve been dreaming of? Well, not really. But something I’ve learned over this past year is that I’m glad I didn’t know what the next chapter looked like. We always hear people say ‘I wish I knew’. But honestly if I had known, I probably would have been too afraid to do it and I would be missing out on something amazing! I’ve have grown so much in my faith journey. My prayer times with God have been so raw and real. I’ve written so much in my prayer journal that I can look back and see what God has been doing in my life and I’m in awe of how awesome God is.

“For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways,” declares the LORD. As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts.’ Isaiah 55:8, 9 NIV

I am so thankful that God does know the plans He has for us and He leads and guides us there in His time. It may not be my dream, and some days I can get discouraged because I’m not where I thought I would be, but I know I’m exactly where God wants me!! And it’s an amazing place to be.

image

About Kathy:

Kathy Mizen has served as a children’s pastor for over 16 years, in Petrolia and Windsor. She grew up in Goderich and has travelled to 6 different countries for missions. She is a bit of a coffee diva and loves her Starbuck’s and McDonald’s coffee. To find out more about Kathy’s Adventures to Honduras, click HERE.

Leave a Reply

