{Marriage} Does Mom really know best?

By: Cindy Morrone

She came running in my room, pleading her case against her Papa. She began to run off the litany of hurts, he had just supposedly placed upon her.

As I listened, I started to pray, “Lord, what is my role in this? How am I to help? I don’t want to undermine my husband or his role as her father. Show me Lord what to do, right here and right now.”

Because I am with my daughters most of the time, the daily routines, the set boundaries and all the little, details of what to discipline and what to let go is very known to me. However, when my husband is home he is required to jump into these unknowns and figure out what to do in a moment’s notice. It would be like me going to his work at the hospital and watching a patient start to desaturate on the ventilator and knowing what to do before the patient stopped breathing!

“The LORD is righteous in all his ways and loving toward all he has made. The LORD is near to all who call on him, to all who call on him in truth. He fulfills the desires of those who fear him; he hears their cry and saves them.” (Psalm 145:17-19)

Although it’s difficult for me to know, our God and King knows and He will answer our prayers. He knows what my husband needs to do; He knows how my daughter needs to grow in that very circumstance, and He knows how best I can help as my husband’s helpmate.

So that time, the Lord asked me to listen to my daughter and not intervene. My husband and she figured it all out, and as they did, I continued to pray for him and her and their relationship with each other and the Lord.

Dear Heavenly and Gracious Father,
What would we do Lord, without being able to go to You? We are so thankful You are always there, listening and intervening on our behalf and the behalf of our loved ones. Help us to stay committed to reading and knowing Your Word; to write Your scriptures on our hearts; so we can pray, as You have directed. Lord, God we pray for our husbands and we pray that You would continue to lead, guide and direct them in their relationships, especially in their parenting. Help them to reflect You in all their ways by the power of the Holy Spirit. We pray all these things, in Your Son’s holy and precious name. Amen.

Leave a Reply

