{Parenting} Inch by inch

By: Cindy Morrone

It was early morning and we needed to leave for swimming lessons. I had left myself enough time to be in the water punctually. And to have 3 precious ones in the van, on time, any time in the morning is a small miracle!

With all our gear on, we strapped ourselves in and I pressed the garage door opener in faith. It started to go up and then stopped. I pressed it down again and it proceeded back to its starting place. Again, I pressed the button expecting the glitch had vanished. Nope, once again it stopped a foot from the ground. And time continued to tick….

I released the door manually and pushed it with all my might and it still didn’t budge beyond its sticking point. The prayers started to come and I thought, “What in the world am I going to do?” I decided to try to get my forward facing van out the other garage door! It seemed the only option at that point. My daughters on board, started to help me move all the bikes, wagons, and toys out of the way, and out onto our lawn. With each daughter on each side of the van, I started to go forward and back up and go forward and back up. It looked like I was going to do this and then with my van only a fraction out the other door, I started to panic! I had done all this; only to be stuck and in a worse predicament than when we started. We weren’t going to make swimming lessons; we weren’t going anywhere that day by vehicle.

Then my daughter shouted, “Go, Mama!! Just go! You have enough room!” And sure enough, with more praying, I went and we did it!! And we made it to swimming on time!! Huge miracle!

“Not only so, but we rejoice in our sufferings, because we know that suffering produces perseverance; perseverance, character; and character, hope.” (Romans 5:3)

Once my daughters got back into the van, one asked, “Did you pray Mama?” And as I replied, they both responded, “We did!” “I was praying the whole time!”

“if my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land.” (2 Chronicles 7:14)

I am in awe of our Lord, for these everyday lessons and am so thankful that not everything works out, all the time. And that He provides the way when there is no way!

Dear Heavenly and Gracious Father,
Thank You so much for our precious children!! They are such incredible gifts to us! Thank You also for those challenging times, when our children can see how relying on You gives hope! Help us to always cry out to You; may that be our first response. We love You Lord! Amen.

Leave a Reply

