{Parenting} From a weary Mommy’s heart.

By: Mandy Hill

I am the Lord, your God, the one who brought you out of the land of Egypt. Open your mouth wide and I will fill it!’ (Psalms 81:10)

Have you ever doubted that you were the right person for the job; being a Mommy? THEIR Mommy? Have you ever felt isolated and unequipped to raise this precious child{ren} that God has blessed you with?

I would like us to take a look at two things today- things straight from the word of God to help those of us who feel this way sometimes. I say “those of us” because I am right here with you Mommies! Those three questions above… I have answered yes to ALL of them. Recently.

image

First, I’d like to remind us that condemning thoughts are not from God. John 8:44b says this about the enemy: {He was a murderer from the beginning, and does not uphold the truth, because there is no truth in him. Whenever he lies, he speaks according to his own nature, because he is a liar and the father of lies.} So, sisters….those negative thoughts, those negative questions, those feelings of being isolated and unequipped, feelings of doubt that you are the ‘right’ Mommy for your child{ren}, feeling like you’re not good enough….those are thoughts placed in your mind by the father of lies. The enemy; there is no truth in him.

We need to be ready, friends; on guard. We need to learn to promptly identify when the enemy is trying to push us off the road of righteousness and into the ditch of lies. How can we do that?! We can turn to the Source of truth and we can see if these thoughts and feelings align with scripture. For example, consider the following negative thought/feeling:

‘I feel isolated and unequipped to raise these precious children that God has blessed me with.’
Replace your negative thought/feeling with positive truth from God’s word:

A) Deut 31:6 “Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid or terrified because of them, for the Lord your God Goes with you; he will never leave you or abandon you.”

B) Jeremiah 29:11 “For I know what I have planned for you,’ says the Lord. ‘I have plans to prosper you, not to harm you. I have plans to give you a future filled with hope.”

C) Romans 8:30 “After God made that decision of what his children should be like, he followed it up by calling people by name. After he called them by name, he set them on a solid basis with himself. And then, after getting them established, he stayed with them to the end, gloriously completing what he had begun.”

….and if our feelings do not line up with scripture we need to allow ourselves to disregard the lies and believe the truth instead……and the truth is that God gave these precious little ones to us for a reason. There is no Mommy that can be found on this earth that is better equipped to raise them than you! God created you, with them in mind.

image

The second thing we need to do once we readily accept biblical truth is to be open to allowing God to work through us. After all, these treasures that we are raising; they’re ultimately His! Like our scripture says “Open your mouth wide and {He} will fill it!” Doesn’t that bring incredible peace? When we open our mouths surrendered to Him- HE will fill it. He will be our supply; but we MUST trust and depend on Him first.

He is with us. He will not leave us. We have a bright future. He has good plans for us {and our family’s}. He has called us by name; {Mommy!}. We have great hope!

Heavenly Father, thank You for these children you have entrusted to my care. Please never let me forget that they are first Your miracles; Your treasures. I pray that when I doubt in my abilities to raise them that You will remind me where my help comes from. That You are my supply! Father, help me to remember that when I cling to Your truth; You will fill my mouth! I pray also for my sisters who are doubting their abilities to fulfill their calling of motherhood. Please shield the enemies lies from Your truth and hope, and cover them with a confidence that knows through You, we can do anything, we can do ALL things, because it’s You that gives us strength! Thank you Jesus!!! In your name, Amen!!

3 comments

  1. All such wonderful encouragements from Truth! Thanks for reminding us to seek Him and trust Him as we mother these littles we’ve given.

    Missy (Proverbs 31 Ministries OBS Team)

    Like

  2. What a wonderful post — this part especially spoke to me: “and if our feelings do not line up with scripture we need to allow ourselves to disregard the lies and believe the truth instead……and the truth is that God gave these precious little ones to us for a reason. There is no Mommy that can be found on this earth that is better equipped to raise them than you! God created you, with them in mind.” I plan on printing this whole post out and putting it in my journal. Thank you for sharing!
    Jennifer (Proverbs 31 Ministries OBS Team)

    Like

  3. Awesome! Thank You…I loved being encouraged by the Word and You did it beautifully. The devil is indeed a liar and the father of it. Prsise God that we know these truths and when in doubt…go back to the Word. Much blessings, a great post that I oh so needed 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

