{Ministry Mom} But, I miss MY Mom.

By: Mandy Hill

But to all who believed Him and accepted Him, He gave the right to become children of God. They are reborn—not with a physical birth resulting from human passion or plan, but a birth that comes from God. (John 1:12-13)

Sometimes the sacrifices we make to be in ministry, just don’t seem fair.

One of the biggest sacrifices we have needed to make was that of living far from our family. My husband and I have been so blessed with incredible friends here at our local church; friends that really do feel like family. However, sometimes I still ache for the nearness of my own mom and dad.

image

The ache has been growing exponentially the further along I become in my pregnancy. I’m considered ‘high risk’ because of my lengthy prenatal history, and make more trips to my OB, hospital and the like, than the average expectant mama. These extra trips and appointments cast a heavy guilt over my heart as I realize that we just can’t do it all on our own.

Emotionally explaining my frustration to my husband recently, through tears I cried, “I just wish that Mom and Dad were closer. I’d feel less guilty about asking them to come over; because they’re family. I’d feel less like I was being such a bother to everyone.” He reminded me just how many people have genuinely offered their help, and encouraged me to just rest in that. We are never without help when we need it.

He’s right. We are the family of God- the Word says so quite eloquently. “But to all who believed Him and accepted Him, He gave the right to become children of God. They are reborn—not with a physical birth resulting from human passion or plan, but a birth that comes from God. (John 1:12-13) The moment we accepted Christ into our heart, we expanded our ‘family’.

It’s difficult sometimes to accept help, trust me, I so get that. But, rather than trying to do everything on our own; it’s probably wisest to allow those who graciously offer to share our in load- to do just that.

So, ministry Mom, will you allow that friend to help today?

Heavenly Father, thank You so much for family found all around the globe. Thank You for friends who enter our lives as we live out your calling; who genuinely and honestly lend their hand during our time of need. Please ease our achy hearts when our families seem so far away, and instead fill our hearts with a joy and peace that can only come from You. Bless our ministry, Jesus. In Your name I pray, amen.

One comment

  1. And Your Mom wishes we were closer, to be able to help you too, more than you know. I am thankful to God daily for the Church family you have that steps in to help. God richly Bless them. Xoxoxo

    Like

Leave a Reply

