{Ministry Mom} My BIGGEST weakness.

By: Mandy Hill

“Do not fear, for I am with you; Do not anxiously look about you, for I am your God. I will strengthen you, surely I will help you, Surely I will uphold you with My righteous right hand.” (Isaiah 41:10)

It was a very long night. I must’ve have been woken from my sleep every half an hour to use the washroom, thanks to yet another UTI. Each time I got up, another thought would enter my mind that would cause me to worry. ‘I hope they found this UTI in time; untreated, a UTI can induce preterm labour. I hope they gave me the proper medication. I wouldn’t want this new med to induce labour either…

image

Finally, the morning came. A time of day that actually made good sense to consume my cherished cup of steaming hot coffee. I make my way into the kitchen, when on my walk down the hallway, a tiny twinge of pain makes it’s way over my belly. ‘Oh no’, I think, ‘could this be labour? I’m only 28 weeks. Great, another thing to worry about.’

I begin to make breakfast for my family and notice the time. Goodness, how’d it get to be so late?! ‘Nathan’ I call out, ‘are you ready for work?’ He surprises me as he rounds the corner of our kitchen fully dressed and sets his packed briefcase down. ‘Will you have time to eat breakfast with us?’ He assures me there is enough time and we all sit down to enjoy a few minutes together.

image

My daughter, Sophia, comes to the table appearing a little too pale for my comfort. ‘Are you feeling ok, honey?’ I ask. ‘Yes, mommy’ she says ‘I am just a little extra tired today.’ I tuck that into my memory, and begin to worry that yet another infection is beginning to take life in her body.

Worry, worry, worry; the list is long. And, for goodness sake, it’s only 8:30am!!!

After I cleaned up from breakfast and settled the kids into their activities, I picked up my bible and my cup of coffee and settled in for a quiet time with my Lord. The worrisome thoughts that had accumulated in my mind over the last several hours were weighing hard on me. ‘Lord, please speak peace to me today. I’m so desperate for relief from these worries.’

“When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; and when you pass through the rivers, they will not sweep over you. When you walk through the fire, you will not be burned; the flames will not set you ablaze.” (Isaiah 43:2)

The Lord certainly answered the cry of my heart. He reminded me that He is right here with me; that no matter what twists and turns the path of life takes me on, He will never leave me. He never promised that life would always be easy- but He promises that I will never face one moment of it alone.

image

Matthew 6: 27 says “And who of you by being worried can add a single hour to his life?”

So, sisters, let’s choose to toss our worries aside and live with the assurance that we are not facing this life alone. Worrying- no matter how big or scary the thing you’re worrying about may seem- is not adding anything beneficial to our lives. Instead, worrying is simply stealing our joy from today. Will you, one worry at a time, give it all to Him? I’m with you sister, let’s do this together.

Father God, thank You for Your peace and comfort during a rocky morning. Thank You for Your reminders that You have considered these worries, and have already claimed the victory over them. Thank You for the promise that You will never leave us; not for one moment. Please be with my precious sisters and I, as we choose to live joy-filled lives as opposed to allowing worry to plague our hearts. We love you, Jesus! Amen.

Leave a Reply

