{Parenting} Peace Be Still.

By: Sarah Oates-Walker

image

He stilled the storm to a whisper; the waves of the sea were hushed. Psalm 107:29

One of the hardest days I can remember as a parent was when my 19-month old daughter was sick, throwing up constantly, and understandably hysterical. She was screaming, crying and wanted to be held all day! Normally this would be fine, but I also had a newborn who was shrieking for reasons that I could not figure out. Our closest family members lived 6 hours away and my husband was at work. It was them vs. me! In one arm I held my daughter and in the other arm I bounced my son. As I slowly walked around the house, all I wanted to do was curl up in a dark quiet corner alone and wish the day away.

I don’t have days quite like that one anymore. But, each day presents new challenges and situations to overcome. In the heat of these parenting moments, I have learned a little trick that does not disappoint in keeping my sanity!

When it feels like the fighting, screaming, and temper tantrums are winning the day and I want retreat, I close my eyes take a deep breath and say aloud, “[Peace] Be still, and know that I am God.” (Psalms 46:10)

Go ahead give it a try, close your eyes, take a deep breath, picture Jesus sitting on the throne, and say aloud to yourself, “Peace, be still and know that I am God”. Feels good, doesn’t it? There is peace and comfort that follows when we speak out the word of God, and have faith that He is bigger than any of life’s storms.

Mark 4:38-40 tells the story of Jesus and the disciples in their own, literal storm: “Jesus Himself was in the stern, asleep on the cushion; and they woke Him and said to Him, “Teacher, do You not care that we are perishing?” And He got up and rebuked the wind and said to the sea, “Hush, be still.” And the wind died down and it became perfectly calm. And He said to them, “Why are you afraid? Do you still have no faith?”…

When I choose to seek Christ first, He is faithful to come close to me. Even if my situation does not get any easier, the storm inside becomes calm; the peace that surpasses all understanding begins to rise to the surface! God’s Word promises us, “seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things will be added to you.” (Matthew 6:33). As we make the conscious choice to put God first each day, and in each challenge that arises; He will be there to give us the grace, peace and wisdom to make it through.

Leave a Reply

