{Guest Post} Steadfast Prayer.

Written by: Shelly Patularu

The Need for Constant, Continuous & Steadfast Prayer

​ Nearly a month ago my husband and I walked that familiar route to our gym for some afternoon weight-lifting, one of our favourite hobbies. The conversation was light-hearted and easy. As we rounded the corner and crossed the street I felt the atmosphere change. “Hey, I need you to pray for me” he asked. “Sure, is there something specific I can pray for?” I asked. My sweet husband then filled in the details of his prayer request. My heart sunk. Not because I wasn’t aware of the request; we are very open with one another about our struggles. I was convicted in that moment by God. I know my husband’s struggles and he knows mine. God has blessed us with very open communication in our marriage. That being said, I know my husband’s struggles and I pray for the strength of God over those struggles, but how often was I actually praying? God placed a scripture on my heart that day, “Pray without ceasing” (1 Thessalonians 5:17 ESV).

I pray for my husband daily, but God pressed upon me the need for constant, continuous, steadfast prayer. To really pray deeply and passionately, interceding for him and praying God’s will in his life. Personally, my husband and I are on the brink of a very exciting season in life and ministry, and God has revealed to me that prayer is of critical importance moving forward. Through Paul’s letters in the New Testament we find the importance of constant, continuous and steadfast prayer.

​-Rejoice in hope, be patient in tribulation, be constant in prayer. (Romans 12:12 ESV)

​-Continue steadfastly in prayer, being watchful in it with thanksgiving. (Colossians 4:2 ESV)

​-praying at all times in the Spirit, with all prayer and supplication. To that end keep alert with all perseverance, making supplication for all the saints, (Ephesians 6:18 ESV)

The power of prayer is undeniable. Throughout the Bible we see God’s people praying and God’s faithful response. We see Jesus in his earthly ministry praying over others and withdrawing to pray independently. We see the role of prayer in the early church. Prayer is indescribably vital to our lives, our marriages, our families, our churches, our community, our society, our country and our world.

– And whatever you ask in prayer, you will receive, if you have faith.” (Matthew 21:22 ESV)

Finally, and most importantly, we are not alone. Romans 8 describes for us that the Spirit is interceding for us the saints according to the will of God.
Likewise the Spirit helps us in our weakness. For we do not know what to pray for as we ought, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us with groanings too deep for words. (Romans 8:26 ESV)

That is powerful! So, ladies, are we praying for our husbands? Are we praying constantly, continuously, and steadfastly for ourselves, our husbands, our family, our church, our friends and neighbours? What about for our community, city, province, and country? Let us be women who are committed to prayer. Let us be women who are interceding for those around us according to the will of God.

image

About Shelly:

Shelly is a child of God, wife to Alin, and registered nurse. Shelly is passionate about Jesus, the church, marriages and families, nursing, reading and weightlifting.

One comment

Leave a Reply

