{Back to School Special Event} Calming an Anxious Mind.

Written by: Taylor Horner

To me, September is the beginning of a new year. September brings a fresh start for many of us, whether that means going back to school or just the change of the seasons bringing out the crafter inside of us all to start decorating for fall!
Fall has always been my favourite time of year. The colours, the clothes, and the flavours always make me so excited and keep the feeling of starting school with a fresh start so fun! Since I started University though, I have found some anxiety during the month of September.

When starting a new school year there is always the anticipation of who your professors/teachers will be, the projects you’ll have, the people you will meet, and the money you are spending on books and parking! For me September brings even more anxiety then usual as I start placement this year. With placement it involves me going to volunteer at agency as part of my school experience where I will be evaluated. My placement this year happens to be at a Women’s Shelter. I am beyond excited for this opportunity, but the pressures of wanting to do everything right and having placement in a field I love becomes a bit overwhelming.

Moments like these I am reminded about how much I lean on God. There are many reasons we can get stressed out when starting something new. We have to remember however that first of all, none of us are perfect and secondly, God has a plan for our lives, and it is better than we can ever imagine. I always attempt to look back at the moments in my life where I felt nervous about starting something new, and seeing how God has blessed me and protected me through these challenging times. Why would he all the sudden stop that now? He won’t! That is what we need to remember! God will not leave your side no matter the trial you are facing.

Psalm 46:2-3 “God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in times of trouble. Therefore we will not fear though the earth should change and the mountains slip into the heart of the ocean.”

As I am writing this I have not started my placement yet, but I know I have a wonderful God to lean on and I can trust in the knowledge I have in my field that I am so interested in. The same God that is watching over me is watching over everyone else. Have faith in our powerful God who knows us better then anyone else in this world. Being anxious or worrying about situations are not going to make the outcome anymore positive, so stop, pray, and dive into the word of God for your strength and peace.

Psalm 55:22 “Cast your burden upon the Lord and He will sustain you; He will never allow the righteous to be shaken.”

About Me!

image

My name is Taylor; I am twenty-one year old cat lover who is going into my fourth year of University in my Bachelors of Social Work! I love being involved in my church which includes participating on the worship team and going on missions trips whenever they are offered. I am hoping that my career will lead me on the path of traveling to help communities in need especially in the area of addictions. I am newly engaged and I am so excited for this new chapter in my life that God has blessed me with.

Leave a Reply

