{BACK TO SCHOOL SERIES} Starting a new…again.

Written by: Emma Skeete

If anyone ever wanted to find out how to start a music studio, I can tell them! I started in my parent’s living room, building my student base from connections in my mom’s piano studio. Then I got married, moved across the bridge to a different town, and started a studio and received a number of student’s referred to me by an area teacher who had too many students to cover the requests. Then I moved again and had to establish a new studio in a new neighborhood. I carried over some of my students, but in the process of moving I have lost some students who couldn’t make the drive etc…This time I actually took more than a year off having had a mat leave, where 2 other teachers filled in for me.

So when I was asked “How do you prepare for a new year?” oddly enough, I was really quite stumped as to how to answer.

I am busier than I have ever been, coming back to 8 classes this coming week, and I’m a stay-at-home-mom with 2 children between the ages of 1 & 3. However, I realize I am not alone. There are many moms & dads out there facing very similar situations as me, and I dare say all our parents felt the same way when they had little ones.

How do I prepare for a new year? Well, I assisted with and participated in a conference last weekend. Over the summer I undertook changing my entire studio which is still not complete. This past week, I somehow managed to loose my iPhone, the busiest week teaching-wise without actually teaching because I’m organizing the students who have already registered along with registering new ones.

I have had dreams of meal plans, participating in mom-tot groups, library programs this fall and so on it goes…Thoughts swirling in all directions….

How have I prepared for a new year? This week, I reached out to my Heavenly Father and asked Him for peace. I have been reading Ephesians this week and the following phrases stood out to me in Ephesians 3: “12 Because of Christ and our faith in him, we can now come boldly and confidently into God’s presence.”

16 I pray that from his glorious, unlimited resources he will empower you with inner strength through his Spirit.

So I am depending on the Holy Spirit to give me all the strength I need and the peace I need to be rested enough to face the week ahead. This my first week teaching a full load in well over a year.

What else have I done to prepare? Yesterday was one of the most beautiful days we had this summer. Rather than try to placate my children and keep them busy so I could “get everything done” we hopped on the ferry and went across the harbor to enjoy the playground. In the process of yesterday unfolding and running an errand – my car broke. So I called my husband and his friend to rescue me, while I took the kids walked down the street and took my 3 year old potty. All the while choosing to enjoy the day. I know these days of my boys being young will flash before my face and despite the insanity I feel I am facing right now (by the way I had a demo even with a friend today doing a sound play for kids, so I could promote my classes) I WILL enjoy my children. Yes its been busy, but God is still good, He is sovereign and I’m going to not only get through this coming week, but by His grace I am going to do it victoriously!

This morning my mom called and I admitted to her how defeated I already felt. She told me I could do it. Thereby getting just the encouragement I needed to keep going.

I almost did not write this blog, however, I didn’t want to leave a friend stuck. So, I’m trying to honor my commitments, and allow God to be my ‘more than enough’.

I have a worship time to lead tomorrow, so now I will go prepare for that. Yes its busy, but I do not mind that as long as the busyness only comes in seasons.

So, my encouragement to you? Come boldly and confidently into God’s presence, and I pray that from His glorious, unlimited resources He will empower you with inner strength through His Spirit.

Eternal Blessings,
Emma

image

Emma Skeete is married to the love of her life Isaac. They have received two heavenly blessings – Malachi 3 and Nehemiah 1. The Skeete’s live in Dartmouth NS where they host a house church called B.A.S.I.C. Their daily prayer is that as they walk this temporal life they will have an eternal impact on everyone they meet and glorify God in ALL they say and do.

Leave a Reply

