{Parenting} Blessed is the one….

By: Sarah Oates-Walker

“If the basis of peace is God, the secret of peace is trust” – J.N. Figgis

“But blessed is the one who trusts in the Lord,
whose confidence is in him.
They will be like a tree planted by the water
that sends out its roots by the stream.
It does not fear when heat comes;
its leaves are always green.
It has no worries in a year of drought
and never fails to bear fruit.” Jeremiah 17:7-8

It can be so hard to have peace, peace that passes all understanding. There are so many times when it seems impossible not to worry or stress about situations in our lives. As I have been reading and studying my bible, it amazes me the promises that God has in his word for me! Promises about my well-being, promises of his peace, promises of wisdom, promises of a change of heart and the list goes on! Man, my God is a GOOD God!

My one-year-old son recently had surgery to repair a minor birth defect. Once we had the surgery date I felt my heart drop into my stomach and it stayed there for months! I felt like God showed me the outcome of the surgery in advance, which was a perfect surgery and a smooth recovery. Even though I felt confident in the procedure, the “Mom” inside of me was stressed and worried about my little man being put under anesthetic and placed in the surgeon’s hands for hours. In the weeks leading up to the surgery, God planted verse after verse about his peace directly in my path! As I continued to diligently study those verses and beg God to keep him safe, a supernatural peace entered my heart. The last three days leading up to his surgery were stress- and worry-free! There is no way to explain this other than God was faithful to keep his promise of peace to me!

image

After the surgery, life quickly became busy with post-operative care and our regular day-to-day activities. For a few weeks, my quiet time with God went on the back burner. Worry and fear crept back into my life. I found myself worrying about the silliest things! Were we going to make it through a shopping trip without one of the kids having a melt down? What if I couldn’t get the house cleaned, dinner cooked and everything picture-perfect? These are ridiculous things to worry over! My kids are feisty toddlers, so yes, someone will almost always get upset during errands! Of course the house and dinner and myself and the kids will not look and act picture-perfect! I just couldn’t help but worry over the impossible!

When I read Jeremiah 7:7-8, it spoke volumes to me. When I was invested in my daily relationship with God, he was there to comfort me during times of trial. When my relationship with God was neglected, it’s shocking how quickly I withered in fear of the unknown. With some diligence, I was Jeremiah’s tree, not thirsty, not fearing, perfectly thriving in every season!

It showed me how important it is to be invested in my personal relationship with Jesus daily! There are so many promises for us to claim in God’s Word, but we are the ones who have to choose to press into them! We have to be the ones who are praying, and learning, and growing in our understanding of who Jesus is – or else we will get caught up in ourselves and the world around us, distracting us from the blessings we are promised!

Leave a Reply

