{Turning tragedy into thanksgiving} Ben’s story.

Written by: Mandy Hill

“What do you want to be when you grow up?”

A question asked so many times of a child. Of course my answer changed many times from doctor to nurse to teacher……but the one that stuck the longest was: A Mommy. My true hearts desire from a very young age was to be a Mommy.

Mortals make elaborate plans, but God has the last word. (Proverbs 16:1)

At 21 years of age I sat in a doctors office, as my physician explained to me that I had an illness called polycystic ovarian syndrome (PCOS). This illness, while it had many ugly symptoms would severely limit my ability to conceive a child. Nothing could have shaken my dreams more than hearing this news.

My husband and I battled infertility for a number of heart-wrenching years. Month after month our hope would decrease. Our ‘plans’ to have a family seemed to become less and less realistic every month that passed by without a positive pregnancy test. As such, with each negative pregnancy test, my arms felt emptier.

I was visiting my family in NS the summer of 2007 when my aunt asked me when we planned to have children. “Soon, I hope. We’re trying….” was my reply. To this day I can still audibly hear her response; She said “Oh….. well don’t try so hard. It’s all in God’s time anyway!

Her words completely changed my perspective that day. My husband and I had trusted that God had given us both the desire in our hearts to be parents. My husband and I, while our hope was fading, also trusted that God would give us a family someday.

In March 2008, my husband and I led a team of young adults to the Dominican Republic. We participated in a wide range of ministry opportunities such as: construction, visiting a special needs orphanage, kids programs, speaking, sharing testimonies, etc.

But, we had difficulty trusting him with the timing.

One particular night while visiting a small church in Sosua, our ministry team and their pastors/congregation gathered together for a time of prayer. Having a child was heavy on my heart during this trip and my soul literally ached to enter motherhood. As we pressed in together the pastors wife (named Elizabeth) came close and placed her hand on my belly. She did not speak a word of English, however, she was moved very deeply as she prayed over me. I believe that that night God placed my very need on her heart, and she obeyed Him, seeking Him passionately for my miracle.

Proverbs 16:1 says: “Mortals make elaborate plans, but God has the last word.” Sure, we can make all the plans we want…..but our Almighty God always has the last word. And friends, if our experience has taught us anything, it’s that His timing is ALWAYS the very best.

Looking back I can clearly see God’s hand at work. His timing is truly perfect, friends; I can without a doubt testify to that truth! God gave us the miracle we had hoped, dreamed and fervently prayed for. The month after we returned from that missions trip I learned that I was expecting our first child.

image

Bright and early, on the very first day of December in 2008, we welcomed a beautiful baby boy into our lives. Benjamin William-Clarke was born weighing 8lbs 3oz! We were overjoyed and absolutely ready to embark on the journey called parenthood. Finally, my hearts desire had been met.

As our Ben breathed in his first breath, my days as ‘Mommy’ began. Thank You, Jesus!!!!!

image

Leave a Reply

