{Marriage} Balance.

By: Mandy Hill

“Look carefully then how you walk, not as unwise but as wise, making the best use of the time, because the days are evil. Therefore do not be foolish, but understand what the will of the Lord is.” (Ephesians 5:15-17)

Earlier today my husband asked if I would give him a hand cleaning our garage. After a weekend of birthday party celebrations, silly string wars, a grocery shopping trip, and of course the Christmas decorating……it is needing some real attention.

We made a plan that after dinner, baths, and a game with the kids, we would head out and get the job done. However, the sum total of the work I put into my day, and all those things I mentioned above left me feeling too weary to complete the task.

“I’m sorry, I just can’t do it tonight” I said, pleading with my husband to understand.

image

As I rattled off exactly what I did today in an attempt to justify my weariness, I actually surprised myself. While I accomplished many things, my list of accomplishments did not include: a shower, a change of clothes, or even brushed teeth (ick)……and here it was already 7:45pm.

My job as a Mommy is exactly where I want to be; exactly where I am called. Sometimes I get so wrapped up in being a Mommy that I forget what it means to be a woman, wife and friend.

Can you relate, friend?

I take my role as Ben, Sophia, Spencer & Grayson’s Mommy very seriously. I also take my role as Nathan’s wife seriously, but sadly it oftentimes takes a back burner to my role as Mommy. I believe it’s so important to keep both roles properly balanced.

“So teach us to number our days that we may get a heart of wisdom.” Psalm 90:12

By allowing ourselves to step out of our Mommy-roles for a few hours a week, we are blessing both ourselves and our children with some breathing space and time to be refreshed. Everyone operates better when they are refreshed. Whether you take a walk after dinner and your hubby can play with the kids, or you have a relative/friend watch the kids for a few hours so you and your hubby can have a little date- allow yourself that important time.

Your role as Mommy will be waiting at the door when you return; I guarantee it.

image

Jesus, Thank You for reminding me to keep balance in my roles. I pray for wisdom in making wise choices with my time; always following the pathway of your will. In Jesus name, amen.

Leave a Reply

