{Faith} Spiritually Dry.

By: Sarah Oates-Walker

“Whoever believes in me, as Scripture has said, rivers of living water will flow from within them.” (John 7:38)

Sometimes, my river seems to have run dry.

There are times when I feel so close to God – spending time in prayer and the Word is so easy and joyful. Then there are times where I feel so distant from Him – I find myself lazy, and opening my bible is a challenge.

We moved into our house a few months ago, and inside the entire house, the walls, closets and even some ceilings had been painted a harsh sky blue by the previous owners. It was our intention to get things painted a better colour, but we just got busy with other things.

As Christmas neared, I decided that we would not celebrate the holidays living in a colour that I despised! For two weeks straight, every single morning I awoke to paint, lived to paint, I made it my life’s purpose to paint! I am happy to say that our entire main floor is blue-free and beautiful, but as a result of committing everything I had to painting, a lot of other things were put aside.

There was little cleaning done, little laundry done, little playing done, and most importantly, little time spent with God. My walls and ceilings were beautiful, and I felt a great sense of pride and accomplishment for all my hard work, but the rest of my life was getting messy. The inside of my house was an explosion of toys, crumbs, dirt, and laundry.

My next goal was to get the mess cleaned up, and yet again my time spent with God went on the back burner. My house is back to being “perfect”, but it came at a price. Even after all my major jobs were finished, I kept finding more and more things that I needed to get done before I would allow myself to sit down and spend some time with Jesus. Although I know He’s always there, eventually God’s sweet presence seemed to go missing. As I sit here, feeling dry and run down, I know that by His grace and His patience that He is gently knocking at my door, gently reminding me to invite Him back in.

“Here I am! I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in and eat with that person, and they with me.” (Rev 3:20)

It is so easy to get caught in this cycle! There are always a million seemingly important things for us to do each day. The demands of family life are never-ending. God’s Word says, “But seek first His kingdom and His righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well.” (Matt 6:33) This verse has been proven true in my life time and time again. When I make time for Him, I sense Him near and am energized by His Spirit. Because of that, I am more productive, loving, patient, gentle, wise, gracious… everything about life is just easier.

Every day, regardless of the demands, I must remind myself to push through and take time to read my Bible, worship and pray – to let God fill and refresh me with His living water so that I can be the woman, wife and mother that I want to be.

Leave a Reply

