{Faith} …..just slightly more aware.

By: Mandy Hill

I recently heard the Francesca Battesteli song called “Heaven Everywhere” and fell in love with the lyrics. The song begins like this:

I hear the bells, they’re ringing loud and clear
You can’t help but love this time of year
It’s Christmastime, there’s something in the air
There’s a little bit of heaven everywhere
Somehow there’s a little more of love
And maybe there’s a little less of us
Or maybe we’re just slightly more aware
There’s a little bit of heaven everywhere

I love love love the line: “Somehow there’s a little more of love, and maybe there’s a little less of us….or maybe were just slightly more aware.

It’s true, isn’t it friends? The Lord requires us to love every day of the year…but the season of Christmas makes us just slightly more aware that there needs to be a little less of us.

image

A sweet friend of mine recently asked me how I was doing. It wasn’t a prying question…her genuineness shone through her eyes and immediately proved her ears were a safe place to share exactly how I was feeling. I shared how things were SO busy lately (which isn’t a complaint, I love the busyness of the season), but I was just feeling overwhelmingly behind in some of the everyday tasks. I joked about my Mount Everest laundry piles and explained that it would take a billion years to chip away at them because our dryer was slowly dying on us. A small load is taking up to 110 minutes to dry. Yikes! ‘Let me help you!’ She said. ‘No, seriously, let me help you.’

The evening went along and after I returned home and was getting ready for bed, my sweet friend sent me a text. She wrote ‘I was serious about helping you with your laundry. Could I do your kids’ clothes? Gather them together and I will pick them up on Thursday and drop them off to you on Friday!’ I felt The Lord nudge me; ‘Let her help you.’

After trying to ration out a reason to say no, I decided to accept her generous offer to do my five heaping baskets of my kids clothes. (Four kids make SO much laundry!!!) The story doesn’t stop there.

image

My doorbell rang on Thursday afternoon and when I opened the door my friend cheerfully greeted me by saying “Merry Christmas” and handed over two Starbucks drinks that she picked up for my hubby and I on her way home from work! If that wasn’t enough to bless our socks off, when she returned our laundry washed, dried and folded….tucked inside one of the baskets was a container with some of her homemade Christmas treats!

Those people in whom we do life with need more grace, more selflessness, and more love. The second chorus of this beautiful song goes like this:

It’s the grace that we show to a world that needs hope
It’s giving our lives knowing they’re not our own
It’s the joy that we feel and the love that we share
There’s a little bit of heaven everywhere

So, friend, let’s really focus on bringing hope, joy, and love to those around us this Christmas time; while we are just slightly more aware. Then, even after the season ends, continue to show extra grace, selflessness and love to everyone. Jesus was the ultimate example of this character!

Is there someone you know that could use some blessing? Do they have a specific need that you could meet? I encourage you, friends! Reach out, give generously, love unconditionally and extend extra grace; while we are all just slightly more aware.

Father God, You are SO good. Thank You for our many, many blessings. Thank You for friends that care genuinely and deeply. I pray Jesus, that You will help us to be ever aware of the ways in which we can help others- not just at Christmastime- but the whole year through. In Jesus name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

