{Best of 2014} Choosing the best.

Written by: Rachel Albrecht

There are times as a stay at home mom when I am caught up in the day to day duties of caring for my two young ones. There are meals to cook, forts to build, clothing to wash, books to read, errands to run, tea parties to attend, and a host of other things that keeps me hopping. Then there are days when the weight of eternal perspective weighs heavy on my shoulders. I look past the sometimes messy faces and often times a messy house, and see very clearly not only the precious treasures I have been gifted with, but the awesome responsibilities that comes with parenting. These moments force me to re examine my priorities as a individual and as a mom.

Lately I am asking myself a simple question – am I choosing what is good for myself, my kids, and my family, or I am choosing the best? In our society we are presented with good options and opportunities often. But I fear our lives might be so full with good things, that there won’t be room for the best. There are countless distractions around us, and while many of them may not be bad, they may be less than the best – God’s best. In fact, good may eventually become the worst if it detracts from the best. I want my life, my family, and my home to be marked by the best.

And what is the best? Simply put, Christ. While the particulars will vary, the principle stays the same. Our lives need to centred around Him. He needs to be our purpose, our passion, and our pursuit. We need to choose Him and His ways rather than the ‘good’ things offered by the world. Cheap imitations and empty experiences will never satisfy

As moms, our time is limited yet our influence is great. We are in many ways the filter of our children and our homes, especially in the early years. When it comes to the words spoken, the activities on the calendar, the tv shows viewed, the books read, the music listened to, the money spent, and the people surrounded by, we need to ensure that good doesn’t crowd out the best. I’m convinced that failure doesn’t only happen when the wrong things are done, but also when not enough of the right things – the best things – are done.

Even when our children are old enough to make their own decisions, we have an opportunity to influence them with our examples and our prayers.The Bible tells us in James that ‘the prayer of a righteous man is powerful and effective’. There is nothing more critical and crucial we can do as mothers than walking in full obedience beforeThe Lord, and lifting up our children in prayer.

Not sure what ‘the best’ might be for you and your family? Pray and ask God to show you. I am confident that prayer will be answered quickly! Mine certainly was, and is still continuing to be answered as I am learning to respond in obedience.

Ephesians 5:15-17 reads ‘Be very careful then how you live – not as unwise but as wise, making the most of every opportunity, for the days are evil. Therefore do not be foolish, but understand what the Lord’s will is.’

I realize there are many things in this world that I cannot control. But in the things I can, I want to live without regrets, knowing that I chose the best – God’s best – for myself and my family.

image

Rachel Albrecht is a book loving, chocolate sneaking pastor’s wife and mother of two fabulous kids. She and her family reside in Leamington, Ontario.

Leave a Reply

