{Best of 2014} The High Cost of Love.

By: Gaye DeMers

Forty years ago a dear friend of mine lost her two year old son in a tragic accident. She told me that it made her not want to love so much, ever again, because it was a risk to do so.

I have been blessed by God to have a wonderful husband, dear children, amazing grandchildren, parents, sister, extended family and friends to love. How we take for granted what we have.

On Christmas eve, my niece put her 2 year old down for an afternoon nap, and when she went to wake him up he was dead.

In January my grandson was admitted to the hospital and was later, diagnosed with crohns disease.

In the middle of all this you wonder and question; LOVE .. as I read my bible in Romans 8, it says: “Can anything separate us from Christ’s love? Does it mean he no longer loves us if we have trouble or calamity, or are persecuted or hungry, or destitute or in danger, or threatened by death?”

.. I am convinced that nothing can ever separate us from God’s love…

Does God know how much it hurts to love someone and have them hurt or die. (I know you get where I am going with this) .. YES .. he knows. Not only does He know; He has experienced it all. When I think how much He loves us, that before the world was formed; He had a plan.

As for loss, He knows since He did not spare his own Son but gave Him up for us all. Can you imagine having a child and knowing they were born for the sole purpose of dying? Oh yes the high cost of God loving us was to give His own Son to die for us ……and yet He did not hesitate.

I am so humbled.

And so I vow to love all that come across my path, what ever the cost; for I know that God’s grace is sufficient for me.

image

About Gaye DeMers:

Gaye is a wife of forty six years to her wonderful husband Gerry, a mom to three much loved grown kids, one great daughter-in-law, and two wonderful son’s-in-law. She is a very blessed ‘Amma’ (grandma) to nine wonderful grandkids. She loves having a house full of people.

Gaye says: “Even though I am sixty eight years old, I am still amazed at Gods love for me and feel privileged to learn more about Him every day. I believe God is not finished with me yet, and am excited to see where He will take me next.”

Leave a Reply

