{Ministry Mom} When the cRaZy kicks in.

Written by: Mandy Hill

I was listening to songs by an artist that has seemingly risen to the top of my favourites list and came across a song that not only nourished my musical appetite, but seemed to reach out and offer the very solution to a prayer I had prayed that very morning.

image

Francesca Battistelli’s song ‘When the crazy kicks in’ begins with these words:

“Here I go tiptoeing to the kitchen
And don’t you know, crash goes the coffee cup
My only chance to be still and listen
Lord, don’t let, don’t let the kids wake up
A little time with You, the only way to get me through the day

Oh, come meet me in this moment
Before it all gets going
These plates start to spin
When the crazy kicks in
A circus of distractions
It’s just about to happen
I’ll be ready when
When the crazy kicks in”

Boy, do I know about crazy! Life with four kids is…..nuts. That’s probably the best word I can come up with after yet another very busy day. Laundry and meals, dishes and baths, loving, disciplining, mediating, bed-making, toilet-training, and diaper-changing (to name a few). My list of tasks and jobs is a mountain high and if I allow it to; that mountain can feel insurmountable.

A few years back I began prioritizing my time with Jesus first thing in the morning so that I could ensure I met with Him. Knowing well the busy-Mom schedule that has my name sprawled across the top…. I wanted to make sure that I began my day right; with Jesus.

After I gave birth to my fourth baby and began feeding throughout the night, I gave myself a little grace and started to spend my time in The Word and prayer when I nursed the baby. The baby had to eat (several times a day, in fact) and I knew that by reserving one of his feeds to pray and one of his feeds to read The Word; I wouldn’t miss that very important time with Jesus.

image

I soon began to realize just how important that specific morning time was for Jesus and I. That hour or so that we spent together was unrushed, distraction-free, and……quiet. I also came to realize just how important it is for both myself and my family to nourish my soul with Him before I start my day. Before the cRaZy kicks in.

My day was more peaceful. I freely offered more grace. Most of all, I was able to pour into the lives of those I spend my every day with out of the abundance that I received from Christ during my time with Him from earlier that morning.

I share these thoughts with you simply to encourage you to search for that time that works best for you! That portion of time that makes your day a little less crazy, a little more manageable and and a lot more grace-filled. When you do find that special time; lock it in. Guard, protect and reserve it solely for the lover of your soul.

Jesus, thank You. Thank You for Your promise that when we seek you with all our hearts, we WILL find you. With You, life is so much more worth living! Please help us with keeping our eyes on You, so we can steadily run this race called life with all the love and grace that You intended us to. I pray these things in Your name, amen.

image

Leave a Reply

