{Faith} Changed perspective.

By: Mandy Hill

“We know that in ALL things, God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.” Romans 8:28

Have you ever been in the thick of saying yes to God and your world totally turns upside-down?! If you are like myself, you begin to doubt…”Am I right in thinking this is what God wants? Am I really equipped? I couldn’t possibly be the right person for this job considering these new circumstances!!!??

image

Can I encourage you to change your perspective a little?

What if….what if your ‘new circumstances’ are the very things that God will use to equip you for what he has asked you to do? God does not promise that everything that happens to us will be good. No, but He does promise to be present; working in and through every situation to bring good FROM it.

The greatest thing to remember when saying yes to God is that last four words at the end of our verse: “according to His purpose.”

God promises through His word to ‘not fail you or abandon you!’ (Deut 31:6b) So, if he is asking you to say yes to a specific task for him- whether it be a small task or a life-changing task he WILL be present for every step of the journey. Instead of worrying about whether you are the appropriate person for the job, praise Him with thankfulness that He is taking special time to mould you in the likeness of Himself; to refine you through the fire (“These have come so that the proven genuineness of your faith–of greater worth than gold, which perishes even though refined by fire–may result in praise, glory and honor when Jesus Christ is revealed.” 1 Peter 1:7)

….and that every part of the journey {no matter how hard or difficult it may seem} is according to His purpose.

As I wrap up, I’d like to share some of the lyrics to a song that means more to me than I could possibly formulate into words. I heard it for the first time while resting in an ‘overnight room’ in the NICU with my very sick little 4lb baby girl just steps away on the other side of the door. A time when my world was upside-down for purposes and reasons I could not fathom at that time….a time when it took every ounce of energy in my being to hang on to the very fine thread of hope I had left.

Through the Fire – Crabb Family

So many times i’ve questioned certain circumstances
Or things I could not understand
Many times in trials, weakness blurs my vision
And my frustration gets so out of hand
Its then I am reminded I’ve never been forsaken
I’ve never had to stand the test alone
As I look at all the victories
The spirit rises up in me
And its through the fire my weakness is made strong

He never promised that the cross would not get heavy
And the hill would not be hard to climb
He never offered our victories without fighting
But He said help would always come in time
Just remember when your standing in the valley of decision
And the adversary says give in
Just hold on, our Lord will show up
And He will take you through the fire again

I know within myself that I would surely perish
But if I trust the hand of God, He’ll shield the flames again!

Heavenly Father, thank You from the depths of my soul for the promise that You give that You will never leave us or abandon us. Thank You for the many times that You have shown Yourself faithful to me by being so very present during times of trouble; times that felt hopeless. Thank You for bringing peace to those situations and for embracing me with Your wonderful presence. I pray heavenly father, for my sisters who are facing difficult circumstances. I pray that in this very moment You will cover them with a blanket of peace and wrap Your presence around them in a tangible way. Thank You for Your love, Your mercy and Your grace. Please give my sisters a new perspective so they have more strength than they know what to do with; strength to complete the journey You have before them. Thank You in advance for what You will do, Amen.

Leave a Reply

