{Marriage} Two is better than one.

Written by: Mandy Hill

image

God said, “It’s not good for the Man to be alone; I’ll make him a helper, a companion.” (Genesis 2:18)

My husband knows ‘the real me’ better than anyone else I know. He knows my good, he knows my great, he knows my ugly. And …..he loves me still.

He knows that when situations get tough or overwhelming – I withdraw. This has been especially true over the last several months.. My pregnancy with Grayson, premature delivery, NICU stay, post-partum blues, and the months that have followed with middle-of-the-night feeds and many foggy days. It’s been a lot.

The ‘downs’ have truly been plentiful lately. I have come to realize tonight how trying to deal with my feelings internally is severing the very opportunity for my husband to hold me up; be the companion that my gracious God designed him to be to me.

Of course he wants to be the one who provides companionship, it’s not good for us to be alone. The bible says so!!

My husband was and is dealing with the very similar things (minus the labor & delivery, of course)…..and we are blessed to not have to ‘go it alone’ because we have each other to lean on through it all. “A person standing alone can be attacked and defeated, but two can stand back-to-back and conquer. Three are even better, for a triple-braided cord is not easily broken.” Ecclesiastes 4:12

I believe The Lord has reminded me tonight just how much strength is found in being unified with each other; most importantly with him. Certainly something I know to be true but easily forget when the storm around me rages and I revert to those tendencies to withdraw.

How do you deal with life’s storms? Do you withdraw, like myself? Do you reach out to your spouse? Let’s truly seek comfort in each other and embrace the peace that God wants to bring to calm your storm. Let’s endeavour to journey through life as a triple-braided cord, not a single thread; for we know a triple braided cord is not easily broken.

Jesus, thank You for my husband and his desire to reach out during life’s storms. Continue to show me, Lord, just how valuable it is to have his hand to hold me up. How blessed I am to be a member of a triple-braided cord. I pray for my sisters who are trying to wage their storms alone- remind them that they can find strength and power in being unified, and that it does not make them weak to face life’s troubles together. I pray for a constant reminder of this, for my sisters and for myself. I know that when life gets overwhelming the enemy tries really hard to make us forget this truth. Bless our marriages this very moment. In your precious name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

