{Parenting} My Forgotten Identity.

Written by: Sarah Walker

I have spent my life wearing labels – some good ones, and some not so good ones. Everyday I wear positive labels like encourager, easy going and trustworthy; however, sometimes I struggle with negative labels like insecure and afraid.

There are times that I have put all of my self worth into a particular label. After my daughter was born, my husband and I decided that it would be best if I stayed home with our kids. I love having the opportunity to be a stay-at-home mom, but giving up my career was hard. When someone would ask me what I do for a living, my reply would typically be, “I just stay home right now but I was a massage therapist.” So much about who I thought I was revolved around my professional life. Without my career, I was forced to revaluate who I was.

After four years as a stay-at-home mom, I am now completely at peace with not being career-minded, but as full-time school quickly approaches for both of my kids, I am already thinking about who I am going to “be” next.

At the same time, there are labels that seem to “wear” me. As I have recently moved back to my hometown after several years of being away, I find that I am constantly reminded of who I was before I found Jesus. Labels like “unworthy” and “unfit” seem to creep into my thoughts at times, making me second-guess who Jesus has called me to be.

It is times like these that I need to remind myself of who I really am! Whether I am fighting against negative labels, or putting to much emphasis on the labels I wear like badges of honor, the Bible always has a clear description of who I am despite who I think I am.

I am God’s child. (John 1:12)
I am a friend of God. (John 15:15)
I have been justified. (Romans 5:1)
I am united with the Lord, and I am one with Him in spirit. (1 Corinthians 6:17)
I have been bought with a price, and I belong to God. (1 Corinthians 6:19-20 )
I am a member of Christ’s body. (1 Corinthians 12:27)
I have been chosen by God and adopted as His child. (Ephesians 1:3-8)
I have been redeemed and forgiven of all my sins. (Colossians 1:13-14)
I am complete in Christ. (Colossians 2:9-10)
I have direct access to the throne of grace through Jesus Christ. (Hebrews 4:14-16)

And the list continues on……

When I am reminded of who I truly am, it becomes much easier to see myself from a heavenly perspective and to leave some of my earthly ones behind!

As the old song says:

Turn your eyes upon Jesus,
Look full in His wonderful face
And the things of earth will grow strangely dim,
In the light of His glory and grace!

Leave a Reply

