{Faith} ‘Ain’t No Mountain High Enough….’

Written by: Mandy Hill

Recently I went to visit a sweet friend while I was in my hometown. This friend just had surgery the day before, and I just really wanted to do my best to bless her.

image

I drove to her home and started my journey down her long, hilly driveway. The location of her home is very familiar; both of my grandfathers are buried in a nearby cemetery, however, this was the first time I would travel the path to her home. About two thirds down this new territory I came upon some hills. I first journeyed down a pretty steep hill only to come upon a hill I was to climb that very quickly brought on the worst anxiety I’ve ever experienced, to date.

At the bottom of the hill I gave myself a little pep talk….“You can do this, woman. It’s just a hill. Obviously they go up and down this hill; you can too.” But, the longer I stalled at the bottom of that hill, the bigger my anxiety grew. I thought, “I will just leave her small bag of blessings in the snowbank and go back….I just can’t climb that hill. I can’t do it.” As I assessed this new plan, I saw the hill behind me and realized I had two choices; I could put the car in reverse and go back up the hill I had just travelled down, or, I could go forward up the hill that lied before me.

In just a few short moments that hill became an insurmountable mountain.

Thankfully, my friends hubby rescued me and the baby. He slid down the hill (yes slid, lol) and brought my car up the hill so that I was able to visit my friend. He gave me some tips on how to get out….but at that point I was imagining having to have rescue helicopters come for me, the baby and the car. I was so gracious, nonetheless, that he had brought us up.

Anxiety is something that has been more familiar than not, as of recently. As I sat and visited with my sweet friend, my fears screamed my insufficiencies across my mind. “You can’t do this. ‘Ya big baby. What a pickle you’ve gotten yourself into now.” I did my very best to suppress these feelings, but a few times they became so overwhelming I actually felt nauseas.

As I was walking out to my car after my visit, I felt that nudge from the Holy Spirit that I had so desperately been seeking and I recalled reading this verse just a few days before:
Jesus was matter-of-fact: “Embrace this God-life. Really embrace it, and nothing will be too much for you. This mountain, for instance: Just say, ‘Go jump in the lake’—no shuffling or shilly-shallying—and it’s as good as done. That’s why I urge you to pray for absolutely everything, ranging from small to large. Include everything as you embrace this God-life, and you’ll get God’s everything. (‭Mark‬ ‭11‬:‭22-24)

I knew in the grand scheme of life, this hill would be a very small thing but in the moment it felt absolutely impossible. I got in the car, buckled up, recalled the tips my friends hubby had shared and began my decent down hill number one. In the lull before the mountain I soon faced, I prayed, “Jesus, please help me!” I knew that I could not climb this mountain on my own because my fears were so much greater than my courage.

The moment I called out His name, peace flooded my heart, and of course He saw me through to the very top of that hill.

image

I find The Lord personally offers comedic relief from time to time, and for the rest of my journey home I hummed along to the song “Ain’t no mountain high enough….

As much as this song made me laugh, it’s true of Jesus. There “ain’t no mountain high enough, ain’t no valley low enough, ain’t no river wide enough….to keep Him from you.” Sister, whether or not what lies before you is an actual mountain like I faced, or a figurative mountain like a scary health diagnosis, a financial crisis or the like; there is truly nothing that can keep Christ from you.

Call on His name today. He’s waiting.

Dear God, please help us! We need You in our every moment! Please make Your presence tangible in our lives as we step out in faith and trust You. In Jesus name, amen.

Leave a Reply

