{Faith} No one is you-er than you!

By: Mandy Hill

For we are God’s handiwork, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do. (Ephesians 2:10)

image

Can I share a confession of mine with you? I spend a lot of unnecessary time feeling inadequate! God has called me to do some very specific things in my lifetime; complete some very specific purposes. Sometimes He blesses me with the ability to ‘see’ the fruits of my labor; sometimes it’s not for me to see, just be a part.

It’s those times when I am ‘just a part’ that I begin to doubt myself. Did I really do all I could do? Should I have done more?! Should I have done less? What if I never know if what I’ve done was good enough?! I’m sure there was someone qualified to do a better job than me!

The bible says that each one of us is God’s handiwork. He made each of us individually, with intended purposes. He has prepared you in advance for each thing He will require you to do, along your journey here on this earth.

It is true you will begin to feel inadequate when you look around at others. I know this from experience. The most important thing to remember is that God has called YOU to be you. Don’t try to be God by looking around and trying to decide who might be better off doing what He’s asked you to do. (Likewise, don’t look at something God has called someone else to, and think you’d be better off doing that yourself.)

“Today you are you! That is truer than true! There is no one alive who is you-er than you!” –Dr. Seuss

Stand confidently in the masterpiece that God created you to be and set forth to do whatever it is He asks you to do. Don’t try to be anyone else; be you! Resist the temptation to feel inadequate by measuring your capabilities to someone else. And remember that if God asked you to do something for Him, it’s because he wants YOU to do it. So be you.

Jesus, thank You for making us who we are. I pray that we will learn to be comfortable and appreciate ourselves because it is You that has made us. I pray that You will create in us a confidence to be that person You’ve made us to be, so that we can fulfill your purposes. Help us to learn to not worry about whether we are qualified or not for what You are asking us to do; that’s for You to decide. Instead, I pray that we will simply say yes to Your callings. I pray this in Your name, Jesus, Amen.

One comment

Leave a Reply

