{Answered Prayer} Julie’s story!

Written by: Julie Hough

Sometimes we don’t know how valuable prayer is, until it is ALL we have!

1 Thes 5:16-17 says: “Be joyful always; pray continually; give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.”

Let me tell you a story about many answers to prayer through a few different ways with God’s leading, direction and healing. God is faithful.

The last week of July 2011, I had an allergic reaction to an unknown environmental allergy. Runny nose, watery eyes and a cough. The cough lasted and lasted. I went to the Doctor a few times and she gave me different medications but nothing was helping. I kept getting sicker so I went back to the Doctor and I told her my mid section felt hot and tingly and I was having a hard time walking as my legs felt like they were asleep and tingly. I could not feel hot or cold and was numb mid torso to my feet. Then I woke up with Bell’s Palsy.

My husband Dan and I were newly married, not even a year at this time and I was so sick I couldn’t work, I mostly slept and laid on the couch. Things that might have pulled us apart brought us closer together. Dan would pray for me each day before he left for work. It was a very hard time and I knew there were people praying for me in Canada and United States. That gave me peace and comfort.

All this time God’s hand was upon us and He lead us to a Doctor in Michigan who was able to help me beginning in November 2011. The diagnosis after having blood tests and scans was surprising. In 2008 before we went to the Dominican Republic on a Missions Trip with the Church, I got a bunch of vaccines, including Twin Rex, Hep A & B, Typhoid Fever, Tetanus shot and Malaria pills too. These viruses in the vaccines have been dormant in my body but all of a sudden came alive and they are presenting as a viral infection in my body, attacking my spine and the cause of my Bell’s Palsy.

I did question about why this happened, it was hard to understand when I was going on a Missions Trip to help others and prevent potential diseases but I was confident that God had a plan and it was good. Jer 29:11 “For I know that plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

I started feeling better and was able to go back to work and I know that was because of the power of people praying for me! I was so thankful and grateful for their prayers.

I still was numb mid torso and was not able to feel hot or cold, it seemed to be the last part remaining from my sickness. I believed God was going to heal me and trusting in His timing and plans for our lives.

In February 2013 our church was hosting a “Jesus Culture” concert and I volunteered to be an usher. I was asked to watch a section of VIP seating close to the stage. During the concert they started to pray for people, from the stage calling out different illnesses etc. I knew God was there and He had the power to heal me. So I stood right where I was, I raised my hands palms up and I started to pray “God I know you have the power to heal me right here, to touch my body and take away the numbness and return feeling to my torso and legs.” I began to feel a warm healing touch to my body! I began to thank Him for His healing touch! “And the prayer offered in faith will make the sick person well; The Lord will raise him up.” James 5:15

I went home and told Dan that God healed me tonight, then I proceeded to take off my socks and stand on our tile floor and Praise God I could feel the cold, I was so excited. I felt something I had not felt for 1 ½ years! Thank you Jesus for your healing touch! During this time God used many people to minister to me through prayers, encouraging & comforting words. I could have allowed this illness to make me bitter but I chose to have it make me better and I thank God for His healing power. I want to tell others to encourage them and to give all the glory to God! Thank you Jesus!!

Stress makes you believe that everything has to happen right now.
Faith reassures you that everything will happen in God’s timing.

About Julie:

image

Julie is married to her wonderful hubby Dan for 4 years and lives in Windsor, Ontario, in their cute “honeymoon home” where she can be found spoiling Dan and baking to share with others.

Leave a Reply

