{Ministry Mom} Kudos for Kindness!

By: Mandy Hill

Don’t exasperate your children by coming down hard on them. Take them by the hand and lead them in the way of the Master. (Ephesians 6:4)

More than I’d like to admit, I find myself falling asleep feeling like the worlds biggest nag. Perhaps the kids were extra rambunctious that day, or maybe I wasn’t feeling my best…..nag, nag, nag. Sometimes I hurt my own head.

Ever feel this way?!

A few weeks ago I asked The Lord how I could render this yucky feeling. His answer didn’t come immediately; but gently and in His time, as He so often speaks. I felt The Lord leading me to give kudos or credit to those things that my children do well; bringing more attention to the good then to the…..not-so-good.

image

I gave it a try, upon being prompted and reminded shortly thereafter. The look of gratification in my kids eyes poured buckets of joy into my heart. Sure, there were still many moments of correction and discipline. However, the days where I consciously made an effort to acknowledge my kids good behaviour not only brought the day to a happier close for them; but for me as well. I went to bed feeling much more at peace and so much less like a nag.

The Lord does this so well with us, His children. It would be wise for us to follow His incredible example in loving His children (us), as we endeavour to love our children.

Will you make a conscious effort to bring kudos to kindness, rather than always nag on the naughty?!

Thank You, Jesus, for the incredible example you lead in loving Your children. Please remind us often to bring balance to the every day, by bringing kudos to our precious ones lives. We know that not only will they be blessed and filled up; but so will we. Thank you, Jesus. Amen.

Leave a Reply

