{Holy Week} Deep Roots.

Written by: Michelle Musci

“So then, just as you received Christ Jesus as Lord, continue to live your lives in him, rooted and built up in him, strengthened in the faith as you were taught, and overflowing with thankfulness.” ~Colossians 2:6-7 (NIV)

I hear the wind chimes ringing constantly. The wind is really blowing hard and you can hear it slam against the house. I look out the window and watch the trees being moved wildly around…thrashing this way and that…thankful that their roots are deep and strong.

Sometimes we can feel like we are being thrashed around in this life and I ask myself, are my roots ready for a storm? Can my roots handle the strong winds that will come?

Deep roots nourish.

Deep roots are strong.

image

My roots can sometimes feel dry and brittle. Any amount of wind or weight could knock me down and cause me to break. I have to bow low to get the strength and nourishment from Him in order to hold steady in the storm. I have to dig deep and root down in His Word (and believe Him) to rise up with strength when the winds come – because whatever we water will grow.

“The only way we’ll ever stand is on our knees with lifted hands.”
~Casting Crowns, Courageous

Leading up to this Holy Week, I’m thinking a lot of how Jesus bent over to carry His cross. This image of Him bent over – for me…for you…for us – is at the forefront of my mind. I didn’t deserve His pain and suffering and I still don’t deserve it. He did the impossible because He loves us. He took the nails to rescue us. He said, “This is my body broken for you.” Because of grace we get eternity.

image

I started noticing not only trees bending over but people bent over as well…the child at school, the elderly Grandmother, the man at the store, the Mother picking up her child and me- bent over to kiss my kids goodnight. We’re bent over because we’re broken, or laboring, or loving others. It is hard. We need Him to root down, so that we can rise up.

I’m asking you to think about the end. That day you enter into Heaven and come face to face with the Man that bled for you. How do you want to live your life in the storms that will come? Bitter? Angry? Tired? Dry and brittle? He has more for you. Will you let the Living Water pour grace and truth into you? Because what we water will grow.

“On the last and greatest day of the festival, Jesus stood and said in a loud voice, “Let anyone who is thirsty come to me and drink. Whoever believes in me, as Scripture has said, rivers of living water will flow from within them.” By this he meant the Spirit, whom those who believed in him were later to receive. Up to that time the Spirit had not been given, since Jesus had not yet been glorified.
~ John 7:37-39 (NIV)

We are broken people and to heal we need His love – His everlasting love. We are never alone in our storms…in our mess. He goes before us, He is behind us, and He walks into the storm with us.

Will you let Him nourish and strengthen you this Holy Week? Will you get low and dig deep into His grace poured out for you? Will you water His promises and trust Him? Will you let His Spirit carry you when the winds get strong? Will you choose Him like He chose you?

image

This Monday, as we prepare our hearts for Easter, let us get low and water our roots so deep in His truth that we are able to stand firm when the winds come.

“Look to the Lord and his strength; seek his face always.” ~Psalm 105:4 (NIV)

image

About Michelle:
​Michelle has a passion for photography and writing and uses the two to encourage women to know Jesus on her blog – sweetandsour365.com. She has been married to Brian for 16 years and has 2 amazing children.

Leave a Reply

