{Holy Week} Happy or Holy?

Written by: Doretta Zinck

“For I am the Lord your God. Consecrate yourselves therefore, and be holy, for I Am Holy.” Leviticus 11:44
…. “because it is written, ‘You shall be holy, as I am Holy.'” 1 Peter 1:16

Happy or holy, what’s the goal?

About three years ago while going through a personal struggle , one of my closest friends (and sister in law) challenged me with this statement. I remember hoping she’d have some deep wisdom that would help me feel better but instead she spoke a huge truth into my life that set me on a search. Her words were, “Sister, God never asked us to be happy, He commanded us to be holy”

She could never know how those words hung in the air for me that day, or that the Holy Spirit had so much to teach me. I started to ask God to show me what holiness could look like in my everyday life.

As I followed Jesus through the gospels, I could see Holiness in His words and His actions. How He loved people unconditionally everywhere He went, while obeying the will of God, even to His death. His dedication and devotion to the service of The Father was always priority.

If I call myself a Christian, His daughter, I must start to resemble Him. My words must begin to sound like His Words. Above all, my life must be marked with a spiritually pure quality that comes from seeking after God.

Do I want to be happy? Certainly! But along with that, I want to live this life, obeying His command to be holy in what He places in my hand to do today.

So I’ll stay in His Word, keep talking honestly to Him and have godly people in my life that will love me enough to speak truth.

image

About Doretta:

Doretta Zinck is a freelance artist from Halifax, Nova Scotia. Her and her husband Phil have two adult daughters both actively involved in ministry. Doretta is a Registered Professional Counselor and also teaches young adult Bible Studies.

One comment

  1. Thank you so much Doretta for sharing… the Lord has been impressing this upon me too of late and I am thankful for your post. It is like confirmation for me. Blessings to you!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

