{Holy Week} What Has Jesus Done For You?

Written by: Erin Peters

But Jesus remained silent and gave no answer. Again the high priest asked him, “Are you the Christ, the Son of the Blessed One?”
Mark 14:61

I’ve grown up in church and have been part of many Easter services in my lifetime. The frilly dresses, white hats and gloves of my childhood and the choir performances of my adult life blur together in my mind with the strains of “Up from the grave He arose” echoing. But can I tell you a secret? I don’t remember the messages of those services or any impact on my life.

Maybe you’re like me and can relate to my struggle of participating without feeling or being impacted by the message of the gospel. The struggle of living faith vesus the worn out motions of religion. The struggle of hearing something new from God while singing the old familiar songs of Easter.

So how do we make this Easter different? How do we make today different?

As I’ve poured over the gospels in preparation for this post, I’ve been reminded as to how easy it is to read the same old story again and miss something big because it’s familiar. And you know what? I’m finding I most relate to the Pharisees who were stuck in the old way of doing things and the old system of sacrifice. They could not see who they had been praying for was standing in their midst, preaching in their towns, and walking the road to the cross.

In reading these stories, I felt God pointing out how the Pharisees could not see what Jesus was doing was for them. They could not see who He was and most importantly, how they needed them.

I was struck by this idea of what He was doing for them, when they didn’t even know it and knew I didn’t want to fall into the same category as the Pharisees. So I decided to take pen to paper and write out things that Jesus has done for me. I tried to be intentional about personalizing each one. Here are a few things Jesus has done for me:

– Jesus triumphed over a specific sin in my life that I could never have conquered myself.
– Jesus has given me hope to live knowing that He has won the battle over evil.
– Jesus has gifted me with talents and abilities to use for His glory.
– Jesus protected me in an abusive home.
– Jesus took me away from situations that I wanted, but were wrong.
– Jesus has healed the wounds that others have inflicted on my heart.

Those are just a few of the things that I wrote down. I find that when I personalize what Jesus has done and who He is, I no longer fit into the category of the Pharisees who missed the Son of God walking in their midst. I want to be able to stand up and say, or sing, that I know the resurrected Jesus.

I encourage you to make your own list this week and pray that it pulls you closer to Our Savior!

What would your life be like if you didn’t know Jesus and what He has done for you? Do you find yourself relating to a person or group of people in the account of Jesus’ last week?

image

About Erin:

Erin Peters is a wife and mom of three. Originally from South Dakota, she now lives in Northern British Columbia, Canada. She’s passionate about teaching and encouraging women to get into God’s Word and experience the life-changing love of Christ. Erin is a speaker and writer and serves at her home church on worship team and as women’s ministry director, and also volunteers on the teaching team for Proverbs 31 Online Bible Studies. She is a self-proclaimed booknerd and geek who loves coffee, chocolate and exercise (in that order).

Leave a Reply

