{Holy Week} Easter Every Day!

Written By: Sarah Travis

Yesterday we celebrated the resurrection of our Lord Jesus Christ. We celebrated the wonder of the cross … the fact that Jesus, the Son of God is ALIVE! He is RISEN! Yes, He died, but oh sweet friends, the grave could not hold Him! He rose again; and so we can rise up from the grave of sin and death. Rise up into a life of eternal hope because:

“He has been resurrected!” Mark 16:6 HCSB

Yesterday we celebrated SALVATION!

“For by {the} grace {of God} you are saved {from eternal punishment for sin} through faith {in what the Lord Jesus Christ accomplished on the cross}, and this is not from yourselves, it is the {freely given} gift of God” Ephesians 2:8 NET (annotation mine).

image

I know I can’t be the only one who can say one of my favourite times of worship at church is Easter Sunday! It is always an incredible time of remembering the overwhelming love of our Father God, who sent His Son Jesus to suffer and die to take the punishment for all our sin, past and present.

I love singing praise to the One who defeated the grave and rose again in victory allowing me to be victorious!

“I {Jesus} will grant the one who conquers permission to sit with me on my throne, just as I too conquered and sat down with my Father on his throne.” Revelation 3:21 NET

I love Easter … but what about when Easter’s over.

What do we do after an event? Do we have the event buzz and then let it fade or do we take it with us into everyday life?

I can recall more than one occasion of going to an event and being caught up in the buzz. I have rejoiced as I have been swept away by the intense worship experience surrounding me and moved to tears as I have listened to the words of those bringing God’s Word to life.

There is nothing wrong with setting that time aside to devote 100% to the Lord and attending such an experience, be it a concert or a conference, in fact I would encourage you to do it whenever you can! It is so easy though to walk away from the experience and back to reality with a bang! I have been guilty of leaving the memories, the feelings, the teaching, the joy from those events right where I experienced them. I have been guilty of putting so much of what I learned, saw, felt, and experienced to the back of my mind as I fall back into the patterns of life.

Let’s not do that this Easter!

Let’s not forget what we learned yesterday. Let’s not forget that yesterday we were in church celebrating the risen Christ. We were celebrating new life, forgiveness, new birth, resurrection … let’s not forget:

It is done: We no longer have to live with the sorrow of what we have said and done.
It is done: We do not need to live as if we need to make up for the sins we have committed.
It is done: We do not need to strive for the approval of God or man.

It is done!

Jesus died on the cross for my sins and for your sins!

Jesus took our sin into the grave then he rose again and he walked away!

When Jesus walked away from the grave He not only left the linen cloths in which His dead body had been wrapped (John 20:5) … He also left all of our sin in that grave. Why do I so often feel like I need to go into the tomb and uncover my sin? Why do I feel like I need to return to examine my past sin? Jesus died for my sins! Jesus took my sin into the tomb and left them there!

I don’t know about you but I refuse to live my life in the grave! I don’t need to; because Jesus is RISEN! Let us relive the message of Easter Sunday again today, and tomorrow, and the next day because:

“The faithful love of the LORD never ends! His mercies never cease. Great is his faithfulness; his mercies begin afresh each morning.” Lamentations 3:22-23 NLT

Today let’s walk away from the tomb with empty hands and open hearts to live the message of Easter every day!

“Rejoice in the Lord always. Again I say, rejoice!” Philippians 4:4 NET

image

About Sarah:

Sarah is a Scottish gal who moved to the US in 2012 to marry her American dream boy! She struggled through her early twenties failing to see God’s love, allowing hurt to shape and direct her paths. Having been rescued and redeemed by God’s grace and mercy, Sarah is now passionate about sharing the truths of God’s Word with the world. She has a desire to help women to study God’s Word in a way that will help them to be transformed by truth and live a life of freedom.
Sarah dreams of living beside the ocean and sleeping with the windows open, and if she could listen to worship music, while being outside in the sunshine, eating ice-cream with her husband … it would be a perfect day!

3 comments

  1. So blessed and honored to be part of your Holy Week series Mandy 🙂 Thank you for being such a faithful writer of God’s truth and sharing your heart for Jesus with the world! xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

