{Marriage} Want a great marriage??

By: Mandy Hill

Do you know a married couple that seems more in love than other couples you know? More affectionate, more connected, more together? What sets this couple apart from the others you know?! What about their marriage relationship has allowed you to place them in a ‘cut above the rest?’

image

Marriage undoubtedly takes intentional effort and work. God spoke to my heart this morning as I was thinking ahead to a date night with my husband, that will take place next week. I was thinking of ways I may best spend my energy with the sole intention of blessing him….no personal gratification or pleasure; simply blessing him.

My mind wandered to other couples whose love is tangibly rich and evident by unwavering happiness and joy. What makes these couples stand out amongst others….

Thinking of three couples specifically, I began to notice that they were each very different. The commonality between them all however, was the fact that they made three things their top priority:

1) Nurturing and growing their faith through daily spiritual discipleship.
2) Prioritizing time intentionally spent with one another on a regular basis.
3) Mutual respect.

These couples do not look to other couples for how to be married well….they look first to God and rely on His word for direction and wisdom.

Don’t copy the behavior and customs of this world, but let God transform you into a new person by changing the way you think. Then you will learn to know God’s will for you, which is good and pleasing and perfect. (Romans 12:2)

image

So, back to my question… How can I truly bless my husband during our date?! The answer is in the word! The more I know God through His word, the more I will learn in how to live a holy and righteous life. His word will bring light to areas I can change in order to enrich my marriage, convicting me of my weaknesses and the characteristics I have that do my marriage harm rather than good.

Who or what are you looking to as an example for a successful marriage?

Thank you God for Your incredible truth! I love to read Your word, and I pray that the time I spend in Your word will be time in training; Training to love like You love. Teach me Your ways. I pray that You will help me to make choices that please You, and honor You. Help me be a good wife to Nathan, the wife You intended me to be when You joined us together. Please continue to bless our marriage. In Your name I pray, amen.

One comment

Leave a Reply

