{MOTHER’S DAY SPECIAL EVENT} Leaving the nest.

Written by: Katie Brisco

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not harm you, plans to give you a hope and a future.” Jeremiah 29:11.

I have grown up memorizing this verse, trusting and believing it to be true in areas of my life, all except one. Dating was not an area in my life that I trusted God with until I hit rock bottom. I had enough of relationship to relationship, the heartache and tears. So it was time for a change. Last year, I had to let go of a relationship that completely broke me. A relationship that I tried so hard to keep together, knowing it was not right. I was at a breaking point. I am done with love, done searching. Done. Done. Done.

I had surrendered the search for love and found myself. I pressed into God’s Word every day pursuing this woman of God that I wanted to be so that I was Mrs. Right for the man of my dreams I had faith I would someday meet. I found who God wanted me to be. A woman of noble character, who is far more precious than rubies. A woman who is clothed with strength and dignity. A woman who walks with her head held in confidence because she knows who she belongs to. A woman with a drive and passion for God and serving him and others. God was calling me to be a Proverbs 31 Woman.

My fiance’s name is Bo and we reconnected the weekend his cousin got married last June. I was not able to make the wedding because I was traveling back to town. The next morning while I was walking into church, my Mom told me that Bo asked about me at the wedding, that he told her he was in town and was disappointed he didn’t see me at the wedding. Before worship started, I texted him to see if he wanted to meet up for dinner. Like a gentleman, he drove to my house, picked me up and paid for my dinner. I begged him to let me meet him somewhere because in my mind this was NOT a date. I was used to just meeting up, paying for myself, you know, taking care of myself because I am single and independent woman. After this “Not a Date”, he took me home, I didn’t even let him get out of the truck. I said “thank you, good to see you” and walked inside. Thinking back on it, I was very nervous about where this might go because I didn’t want love. I didn’t want to get hurt again. But as soon as I walked in the door my Mom said, “so is he the one?????” I just laughed. My mom has always liked Bo and thought he was the sweetest guy; which he is. I told her that day that we would probably just be friends and that I didn’t see it going anywhere.

But my Momma knew.

image

She could feel what was to come. One thing my Mom has always been good at is knowing who would be good for me and who wouldn’t. Past relationships she would encourage me that God had someone better. “There’s plenty of fish in the sea” is what she has always said. I ignored her because I didn’t want her to be right. This time around, I definitely didn’t want her to be right; but I’m glad she was. She has great discernment and she is very encouraging to me. She prayed for me and Bo and continues to pray that our relationship will walk with and pursue God.

–A year later–

I will be moving out of my parents house five months before our wedding. This is so bittersweet. I live in Sachse, Tx and my fiance lives in College Station, Tx. So we have been doing this long distance relationship for ten months. Oh my, can I just say, ten months went by really, really, really fast. We will be getting married in November and just about two months ago I decided it was best that I move out of my parents house and get established in College Station before the wedding. My poor parents, bless their hearts, support me but this decision has been extremely hard on them and me as well. I am a daddy’s girl, but for now I’d like to focus on my relationship with my Mom. I am also a momma’s girl. She has become one of my best friends. Our relationship has grown so much over the years. We haven’t always gotten along, (because of my childish behaviours) and still we argue sometimes, but where we are today is something special.

I’m the baby, so having this relationship with my Mom is so important to me. I can share things with her that I felt that I couldn’t as a teenager. When I am having a rough day, my Mom’s hugs always make me feel better. We can encourage each other now and it doesn’t feel like she is trying to control my life or tell me what to do. (Like I felt when I was a teenager). She prays for me, she supports things that I choose to do. She is a strong woman. She trusts in the Lord that He will provide for us and take care of us. She is so beautiful inside and out. Everywhere we go, people will say, “Oh, is this your older sister?” or “are y’all having sister time?” My mom looks GOOD for her age!

She loves me unconditionally. She is a woman of great faith. She has prepared me to be a loving, supportive wife. To always put God first, to pray for and with my husband (to be). She has taught me to honor the boundaries that we set for our marriage and to hold each other accountable. I love my Mom very much and I do not know what I would do or where I would be without her. So, as I am ready to leave the nest and marry the man of my dreams, its still going to be one of the hardest things I do because just thinking about moving makes me miss her. But, I know this will make our relationship even stronger. She and I know this is the path God has for me. I am so glad that this time around I listened to my Mom, otherwise I would have missed my opportunity. Thanks for looking out for me, Momma!

I love you.

Genesis 2:24 “For this reason a man shall leave his father and his mother, and be joined to his wife; and they shall become one flesh.”

image

About Katie:
Katie is a bright young lady who is twenty three years old, born and raised in Texas and owns two businesses. She has a passion for crafting, repurposing, and health and wellness. Currently, she is an after school nanny. She loves kids and enjoys being a positive role model in their lives. She loves the Lord and does her very best each day to serve and honor him. She seeks his guidance for the days to come. She is extremely close with her family and always welcomes others to be apart of her family. Katie and her fiance Bo are to be married this coming November 14th out in the country. Katie enjoys hunting, fishing, camping, and pretty much anything outdoors. She loves animals, especially puppies. Coffee is her favorite drink besides sweet tea. She enjoys her ‘Coffee with Jesus’ time each morning to help get her day started. Her favorite place to eat is Whataburger. (She could literally eat there every day, breakfast, lunch, and dinner.) Her favorite color is turquoise. She enjoys going country dancing with friends. But her favorite part about life is seeing how God has worked in and through her life and others. Being apart of God’s great plan has opened her eyes to love more, care more, and hold onto hope just a little more each day.

Leave a Reply

