{Saturdays with Sarah} A Joyful Heart.

Written by: Sarah Walker

Thou that hast giv’n so much to me,
Give one thing more – a grateful heart,
Not thankfull, when it pleaseth me;
As if thy blessings had spare days:
But such a heart, whose pulse may be
Thy praise.
– George Herbert (1633)

Today I was up at 5am because my daughter couldn’t sleep. I managed to sooth her back to slumber land, and no sooner had I tucked myself back into bed, my son awoke, cheery and ready for the day.

I had several jobs that I had wanted to get done that day, but because I was playing referee to my kid’s constant fighting and then later a nurse to my sick daughter, nothing got accomplished.

It had been a regular, normal, chaotic day, filled with the typical busyness of life. Through the tiredness, the work, a sick little one, and my failing patience – I forgot to praise God.

As I look over my day-to-day life, this sometimes can be a common theme for me. I thank God for the big things, I thank God on Sundays, I even thank Him through the hard times, but I often forget to thank Him in the regular moments of life.

image

Give THANKS in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you. (1Thessalonians 5:18)

Oh give THANKS to the Lord, for he is good, for his steadfast love endures forever! (Psalm 107:1)

Giving THANKS always and for everything to God the Father in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ. (Ephesians 5:20)

Praise the Lord! Oh give THANKS to the Lord, for he is good, for his steadfast love endures forever! (Psalm 106:1)

Oh give THANKS to the Lord; call upon his name; make known the deeds among the peoples! (Psalm 105:1)

As I searched my bible for verses about being thankful, I was met with what seemed to be a never-ending supply!

If I’m being honest, I don’t always feel grateful. That is when I realized that the Bible doesn’t tell me to be grateful when I feel like it. I am told to give thanks in all circumstances!

When my kids are driving me nuts with their fighting, I choose to be thankful that God has blessed me to be their mom!

When we are sick, I choose to be thankful that we are generally very healthy and that we were born into a country with free healthcare!

When I’m grumbling over chores, I choose to be thankful that He has given us clothes to wash, a home to clean and a yard to manage!

When I choose to take my monotonous routines and daily grumblings and turn them into thanksgiving, I feel my attitude shift, and God fills me with his with joy!

For you make me glad by your deeds, Lord; I sing for joy at what your hands have done. (Psalm 92:4)

The funny thing is, I know that I am supposed to always be grateful. It is a natural response when I am celebrating something good. I even remember to be thankful during the hard times as I press into God for His help, but I often get too caught up in the humdrum of life to take note of God’s amazing work in the small regular details of my life. I get so consumed with my kids, my house, my marriage, my friends, and my responsibilities, that I can forget to sing God’s praises for giving me all these things in the first place.

As I move forward, I will join in George Herbert’s prayer, “Dear God, please give me a heart whose pulse may be thy praise. Please help me to take my eyes off myself and my little world, so I can see you in every detail of life.”

When I look for ways to praise God for His goodness, my attitude changes. Instead of submitting to the highs and lows of my day, I can always choose joy by being thankful!

One comment

  1. This was awesome, Sarah. I loved how you said I can always choose joy by being thankful. I am thankful today for the Lord blessings. I choose joy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

