{Faith} Does this table move?

Written by: Mandy Hill

Have you ever eaten at a shopping mall food court table; the ones where the table is fastened into the floor but the chairs are moveable? I was recently eating lunch at one of those tables with several friends, when one of them pipes up and says with frustration: “Does this table move?! I feel like it’s so far away!”

image

She asked this question in an attempt to find a way to have the table closer to her, so she could more easily eat her lunch, ignoring the simplicity in moving her chair closer. We all chuckled with her when she realized the obvious solution to her request….but I began to think of that situation many times after.

But the plans of the LORD stand firm forever, the purposes of his heart through all generations.Psalm 33:11

I began to think of the many times I have missed out on opportunities and plans that God has for me simply because I did not draw nearer to Him. In Malachi 3:6 God says “I am the LORD, and I do not change.

God is like that mall food court table, firmly rooted into the ground. His ways are set, and they will not be moved. We are like the chairs; yes we have the ability (free will) to move around and be where we so desire, however, the way that works best will always be in simply moving ourselves nearer to God. It is in this nearness that God’s plans are unraveled and our purposes revealed.

So friend, will you stop trying to move the table? Draw nearer to the One who NEVER changes and not only discover but embrace God’s amazing plans for your life.

For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Then you will call on me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart. (‭Jeremiah‬ ‭29‬:‭11-13‬)

Jesus, please teach us to stop trying to move You. Thank You for being SO faithful and for never changing but always remaining constant and true. As we drawer nearer to You, please reveal to us Your plans and purposes for our lives and lead us in that direction. We ask for forgiveness for the many times we have tried to make our own plans. We bless You. In Jesus name, Amen.

One comment

Leave a Reply

