{Ministry Mom} …one of ‘those’ Mom’s!

Written By: Mandy Hill

“Let us then approach God’s throne of grace with confidence, so that we may receive mercy and find grace to help us in our time of need.” Hebrews 4:16

image

Parenting is hard. Really hard. In fact it’s the toughest job I have ever put any effort into. It’s also the biggest honor and privilege that I have ever been handed; one I don’t ever want to take for granted.

Some Mom’s make it look so easy ‘eh?! You know the kind….the kind with three kids walking neat and organized behind their beautifully manicured Mama with one baby happily bouncing on one hip, another bun in the oven and a basket of freshly baked chocolate chip cookies balanced in their ‘free’ hand! They’ve just got it ALL together. Usually those Mom’s have a brightly coloured spotlight following them around, amplifying their awesomeness,

on the days when I am feeling the least adequate.

If I have ever given you the impression that I am one of those Mom’s….I am terribly sorry for misleading you. I am certainly not awesome. In fact, I make mistakes daily, but my Heavenly Father is gracious. When I make a mistake, I take it to the throne of grace, where Jesus fills my cup with His mercy.

It will not do us any good to compare ourselves with other moms. Comparison breeds competition. Don’t try to be like any other Mom, God designed you to be your child(ren)’s Mommy….

and you’re His top choice for the job.

You see, God placed our children’s lives in our care for a specific purpose. No one can be their mom like we can; that’s why they’re in our lives. So love on your children, don’t be afraid of making mistakes, celebrate victories; and be the best mom YOU can be. (There’s so much freedom in knowing that’s all God expects!)

Finally and most importantly, be a Mom in His strength. You will be least adequate when you embark motherhood on your own. It’s

    truly important to remember that you can do all things in His strength.

Heavenly Father, thank You for the gift of Your amazing grace. Thank You for Your mercy. Thank You God, for my precious children. God, I pray that You will help me steer clear of comparing myself to other Mom’s. Help me to remember that You designed my very being for this incredible privilege. Help me to always seek Your way first and foremost. Please guide my parenting journey. I also pray for my sisters; bless their role as ‘Mommy’. I pray this in your precious and holy name, amen!

Leave a Reply

