{Saturdays with Sarah} Asking For More.

Written by: Sarah Walker

One evening, following a women’s ministry event at our church, we had finished up early with a challenge: leave the church right now, head out with a few others, and prayerfully find someone to bless with our time or finances.

A few ladies from the group went to the grocery store, bought a hundred dollar gift card, and walked up and down the aisles praying to find the right person to bless with the money that night.

image

After wandering for a while, they came across a mom with her two young children. As they approached her, they explained to her that they had just come from church and that they really felt like God wanted them to pay for her groceries.

This young mom was amazed; as it turns out, she had come to the grocery store that day worrying about not being able to afford her groceries. She was a single mom and was barely making ends meet. Amidst her very real worry, God was waiting to show her that He loved her and would take care of her in her struggles.

As I followed up with each of the ladies who had gone out on the mission to bless someone, they all had an incredible story to tell. Each one of them was filled with overflowing joy and amazement! As they stepped out in faith, wanting to be a blessing, God had used them to make a difference in someone’s life that night. While listening to their stories, it was like each woman had come to life with new energy, joy, love and a renewed sense of purpose!

“Even Jesus, when teaching us the Lord’s prayer, prayed for his portion: “Give us today our daily bread” (Matthew 6:11). If He had to pray for His portion, why would we think that we wouldn’t have to?” (Lysa Terkeust, What Happens, When Women Walk In Faith)

As I read this quote from Lysa Terkeust’s book I couldn’t help but wonder, “What would my life be like if I honestly asked God for my daily portion each day? What is my daily portion? What would it mean if I asked boldly, and then stepped out in faith, trusting that God will answer? ”
Jesus taught us to pray this way:

Your kingdom come, your will be done, on earth as it is in heaven. Give us this day our daily bread. (Matthew 6:10-11)

I pray for a lot of different things each day. Amongst many things, I pray for my family, my friends and my church. I also pray a lot for myself. I pray to be the best wife, mother, and friend I can be. I want to bear the fruit of the Spirit within all my relationships. I pray to have wisdom throughout each day. I pray that God helps me with these things because without His help and guidance I know I will fall short. All of the things I pray for are good things, but I have never really asked God for my daily portion before.

You do not have because you do not ask God. James 4:2

Every day I pray for what I think I need, but God knows exactly what I need each day!

As I began to pray for God’s will to be accomplished each day. I started to become more aware of ways to show love to others each day, even in small ways like sending an encouraging note, holding the door for someone, giving a smile or taking my elderly neighbour to the grocery store.

Although all of those things seem small in the moment, they can still be difficult to walk out. When I’m having a bad day, it’s not easy to think beyond myself and offer a warm smile or an encouraging word. When I’m running short on time, taking my neighbour to the store is a sacrifice. When I’m trying to wrangle my two little ones into a store by myself, even taking a minute to hold the door for someone is not an easy task.

But I have found that when I sacrifice what I want for the sake of others, then whatever I am struggling with quickly gets replaced by joy and a sense of God’s closeness.

I have begun to see that God’ s daily bread is not just about my physical basic needs. For that young mom in the grocery store, her daily bread literally was bread! But God’s “daily bread” can also be the tools needed to carry out his will, tools like having strength, peace, wisdom, love, patience and discernment.

I believe that as I spend each day trying to walk out what God has called me to do, God will continually give me the courage and endurance to carry out his will, and I know that as I am faithful to step out in faith, God will continually fill me with his joy.

One comment

  1. This really spoke to me this morning, Sarah. I love the idea of handing a young mother a gift card for the grocery store. I have offered to help out a family with three boys this summer. The boys are 5, 12 and 14. Apparently I will have one boy at a time visiting me. I’m not sure how this will fit into an already busy schedule of Bible studies. Adding an apprentice schedule with Terra will also complicate things. But I know that with my Father’s help, I can do all things. Looking forward to the energy of young ones just blesses me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

