{Father’s Day Special Event} Girls….it had to be Girls!

Written by: Matt Ostropolec

The overall challenge of becoming a biological father took years to overcome. Having to go to a fertility clinic due to complications with becoming pregnant became a never-ending cliff to climb. After having many miscarries (6 that we know of) made us ask the question, why us God? Together with God, He solidified our marriage and made us one in Christ throughout the whole process. Placing the struggle of infertility and every other challenge we faced, into His hands was the most important lesson we learned. The difficulties we overcame made my wife and I the parents we are today.

image

Being a father of two beautiful little girls is a role I do not take for granted. My role as a father is a blessing I thank God for every day. Not only do they love me with smiles, hugs, laughter, tears and an abundance of cuddles, but they hold me accountable for my actions, my faith, my leadership and my love.

Girls….it had to be girls! I was raised with all brothers and never really knew what was involved in the upbringing of girls. I remember sitting in the fertility clinic finding out our eldest was a girl and my mind went wild. Dresses, make-up, moods, girl-drama, and boys (not for a very long time) were just a few of the girl issues going through my overly creative brain. But the one large question I had was how do I, as a father, raise women of God who will find a Godly man, in a world so torn and violent?

The Lord placed two beautiful girls in my charge; under my protection and guidance. I need to check my values and my faith. I need to live the life a Godly man must live and be an example to them to see what a marriage must be and look like. Again, I was taken back to the original months of becoming pregnant and needing to hand this wonderful creation over to God. God will guide me, He already has and He always will. The fact that I became a daddy, means God knows I am ready to be a father.

If I was to sum up what I have learned over the past three years being a Father myself, would be this: Love, Listen, Laugh, Live and Try.

Love – love with all your heart, within every situation. God’s love needs to flow through you so that your children can see and experience it. Love your wife more than your children; she will need your love more now than ever.

Listen – Listen to what God has planned. Listen to your children. Make time for just them to tell you all their little stories even if it’s the millionth time you have heard it.

Laugh – Laugh with your little ones. Play even when you’re tired. This interaction will create a bond that cannot be made elsewhere.

Live – Live a life for God. God has complete control over every aspect of your life, so live knowing this truth.

Try – so many men run when they become a dad, looking for a way out. Try, even if you fail. It’s a job that is unlike any other. The love of a child can’t be expressed in words. Explore new adventures and welcome your child’s opinions whenever they want to try something new.

Being a father is; scary, worrisome, tiring, never ending, challenging, amazing, exciting, and the most wonderful experience I have ever been able to have in my life. I could not imagine my life without my girls; I don’t even remember what life was like before their beautiful arrival on earth. I would NEVER give up my life as a FATHER.

image

Matt is a husband to the ever so patient and lovely Amy, Daddy to Emerson (3) and Harper (6 months). His career as a Secondary School Teacher with the Lambton Kent District School Board has him coaching various sports (Soccer and Volleyball) and participating in clubs (Student Council). Matt has been a High School youth leader for the past 4 years and a newly elected Board Member at his home church (Evangel Community Church) in Chatham. A few of Matt’s hobbies are; being a Husband and a Daddy and mentor to the various youth around the city, coaching, playing house and dress-up, having dance parties, laughing, going to the gym, riding his motorcycle and spending time with family (on vacation or at home) and friends. A quote Matt lives his life by is as follows; “Why worry, when the creator of the universe is in control. Every day is a blessing and we should rejoice for that.” Jeremiah 29:11 “For I know that plans I have for you” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

Leave a Reply

