{Faith} Mentor- A Woman of Character.

Written by: Mandy Hill

image

Guide older women into lives of reverence so they end up as neither gossips nor drunks, but models of goodness. By looking at them, the younger women will know how to love their husbands and children, be virtuous and pure, keep a good house, be good wives. We don’t want anyone looking down on God’s Message because of their behavior. Also, guide the young men to live disciplined lives. (‭Titus‬ ‭2‬:‭3-5)

No matter your age, no matter your position, there is always room for learning and growth.

I have been blessed to have several women over the years as mentor-figures in my life. These women are the cream of the crop- they lead not only by the wisdom in their words, but more so, by the wisdom of their actions.

Webster’s dictionary defines a mentor as: An experienced and trusted advisor.

The mentors in my life have been supportive, encouraging, wise, loving, experienced, and trustworthy. If ever I have needed help navigating through a foggy situation, these women have simply pointed me back to light we know as, Jesus.

There have also been times when my mentors have needed to gently correct me either in my thinking or in my intentions. I remember graduating from high school and one of my mentor friends sharing a piece of wisdom that felt like a mean-spirited insult at the time. I felt like I knew better and walked away feeling hurt and offended. As I grew older and more mature, her words kept coming back to me and I learned the importance of gleaning from the wisdom of experienced, trustworthy women.

Whoever loves discipline loves knowledge, but whoever hates correction is stupid. Proverbs 12:1

If you have found someone in your life that exhibits these qualities- hold on to her and tell her how invaluable her friendship is to you. Maybe you’re reading this longing for a woman in your life to walk alongside you in a mentor type relationship. Ask God to send you someone wise and supportive. Maybe you’re in a position to fill that mentor-role for someone else. If this is you, keep your eyes open for such a young woman and befriend her. She just may need you as much as you need her.

Jesus, thank You for the women You have positioned in my life’s journey to mentor me along the way. Life can be so hard sometimes and it is wonderful to know that You have set people along my path to bring guidance, support, comfort and hope. I pray that You will continue to bless these precious friendships. In Jesus name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

