{Ministry Mom} Pray for their Teachers.

Written by: Mandy Hill

Do not be anxious about anything. Instead, in every situation, through prayer and petition with thanksgiving, tell your requests to God. And the peace of God that surpasses all understanding will guard your hearts and minds in Christ Jesus. (‭Philippians‬ ‭4‬:‭6-7‬)

My school aged children are now kindergarten and grade one graduates. How in the world did my babies grow up enough to be heading to grade one and two in the fall? I can’t believe it- the saying proves to be true: “time flies when you’re having fun!

I think back to the days leading up to their first day’s of junior kindergarten. My heart was restless with fears of the unknown. Will they make friends with the other children? Will they be liked? Will their teacher value them like we do, or will they get lost in the mix? Will my children remember their manners and will they be respectful? Will their teacher be friendly and kind? Will they be passionate learners or will they be uninterested in learning?

In hindsight, these are all really silly worries. What was I accomplishing by worrying, anyway?

When my daughter started junior kindergarten, my worries didn’t lessen, they doubled. Now I have two children going to school under the authority of people I barely knew, yet, felt obligated to trust. I spent a lot of time ‘hoping’ my children would fall under the care of reputable educators; men or women who cared enough to see to it that my precious children would strive to reach the very potential God created them for.

In the days that led up to my daughter’s first day of kindergarten and my son’s first day if senior kindergarten, I prayed for peace in sending my children to school. I felt The Lord place it upon my heart to pray for their teachers. Daily I incorporated these women into my prayer time and peace began to fill the places where worry once lived.

As often as they came to my mind, I uttered a prayer for them. God has really blessed the last two years especially. My children have had simply fantastic teachers. These women more than go to work every day to collect an earning, but truly live out a passion for seeing their students grow into their potential; encouraging and supporting them at every success and also at times where more effort is needed to attain a successful outcome.

As I sit here just a few days away from another year’s end, I have been reminiscing over those first few days and am truly in awe of God’s faithfulness to continually supply me with peace as I daily release my children into their teacher’s care.

image

My daughter in particular simply adores her kindergarten teacher and I believe she was placed into the hands of the best of the best when she walked into Mrs. Doyle’s classroom. What a privilege it has been for me to pray for Mrs. Doyle for the past two years. As an anxious mama, she has been an absolute answer to my prayers.

Friends, PRAY for your children’s teachers. Whether you have a little one who will be starting school in the fall, older children wrapping up their years of grade school, a young adult embarking on a university education….or somewhere in between; PRAY for their educators. Bring them to the throne of grace by name; and God will be faithful.

Jesus, thank You for Your peace. Thank You for Your comfort. Thank You for Your faithfulness. Please bless my children’s teachers and grant them a season of rest during the summer break, bringing them back refreshed and ready to begin again in the fall. In Jesus name, amen.

One comment

Leave a Reply

