{Saturdays with Sarah} Lessons From My Preschoolers!

Written by: Sarah Walker

We have just started a new kid’s church curriculum with our 0-5 year olds at our church, called “First Look” by Orange. Each week they will learn one of 3 basic truths:

image

1. God loves me!
2. God made me!
3. Jesus wants to be my friend forever!

Every Sunday one of those truths will be the bottom line, which we repeat over and over and over! I was contemplating whether these three simple truths might become too repetitive, when I realized that, as an adult, I sometimes have a hard time believing each of these truths myself!

GOD LOVES ME!

“For I am sure that neither death nor life, nor angels nor rulers, nor things present nor things to come, nor powers, nor height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord.” (Romans 8:37-39)

Of course I know and believe this is true, but if I’m being honest, occasionally I struggle with how God could love me. I have a messy past, there are certain areas in my life where I consistently struggle with sin, and I don’t always love the way I should. There is no way that I will ever be good enough to deserve God’s love, but somehow, He loves me despite my failures and shortcomings! It’s just amazing to me that nothing in all of creation can separate me from the love of God! He loves you and I so much that even in our sinfulness, He sent His only Son to die for us. Now that’s true Love!

GOD MADE ME!

“For you formed my inward parts; you knitted me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made. Wonderful are your works; my soul knows it very well. My frame was not hidden from you, when I was being made in secret, intricately woven in the depths of the earth. Your eyes saw my unformed substance; in your book were written, every one of them, the days that were formed for me, when as yet there was none of them.” (Psalm 139:13-16)

For most of my life I have struggled with my appearance and with self-confidence. This was more of an issue when I was younger, but I would be lying if I said I don’t still struggle at times with how my clothes fit, or that I fall short in comparison of the abilities that others possess.

When I read that I was “intricately woven” together by God, I am reminded that nothing about who I am is a mistake! The way I look, and the areas where I’m gifted (or not!) have been strategically put together by my Creator! He made me for a specific work and purpose and I need to remind myself to be continually thankful for every part of who He has made me to be!

JESUS WANTS TO BE MY FRIEND FOREVER!

“No longer do I call you servants, for the servant does not know what his master is doing; but I have called you friends, for all that I have heard from my Father I have made known to you.” (John 15:15)

I don’t always feel like the best friend to Jesus. I love Him and I desire to have a close intimate relationship with Him, but sometimes the busyness of life keeps me distracted from making time for Him, and I can let that closeness drift away. Even during those times, God gently calls me back to Him, and He still continues to speak to my heart and into my life, because friends talk to each other and share in life together.

It excites me to know that each and every week my kids will have these truths written on their hearts. I have come to the conclusion that we just cannot hear them enough! As I take my turn teaching them in their Sunday school class and as we continue to talk about what they have learned through the week, I have already seen that consistently speaking these three truths over and over again has been building an amazing foundation for my kids – but it has also been reaffirming and reminding me of how they important they are for me as well!

GOD MADE YOU!
GOD LOVES YOU!
JESUS WANTS TO BE YOUR FRIEND FOREVER!

2 comments

Leave a Reply

