{Girl Edition} Watch Out for False Prophets…

Written by: Megan Kincheloe

image

This past week my husband and I almost lost a significant amount of money to a man proclaiming to be an employee of the power company. First he called my husband and was able to get my husband to share several addresses with him. After my husband called me to ensure we were up to date on our bill, I called the man back and shared my cell phone number with him. I was so upset about the possibility of our credit being ruined due to being ‘past due’…that I was ready to take $1000 to the nearest Western Union just to fix this quickly! First off…we weren’t past due. Secondly…our bill is $14/month…not $998. This man had played to my emotions and I was so upset that I could not see the situation for what it was. A scam.

This incident caused me to pause and think about other times I have been the ‘victim’ of someone giving me fraudulent information. Sometimes this can come from someone who ‘means well’ but hasn’t done their research. Other times this can come in the form of a friend who is giving you bad advice and telling you to “follow your heart” instead of “seeking out truth.” Even worse…the enemy will send people and situations straight into your life to purposely distract you from the path God has planned for you.

Let’s break these down…

There are people who mean well but who get super caught up in the energy around any given topic and use their voice to stand in agreement with the ‘crowd’ before actually looking in to the facts themselves. Think of it this way…when you are faced with a debate regarding a certain issue, really think about why it is you feel the way you do. Here is an example. When I was growing up, my stepdad would ONLY drive Chevrolets. As a result, through high school and even today, I will boldly tell you that Chevrolets are better and I would never be caught purchasing a junky old Ford (my apologies to you Ford lovers…I can promise you I know nothing valuable about this topic). Now…at no point in my life have I ever gotten under the hood of a vehicle or studied up on the mechanics of them. I based my ‘truth’ solely on the opinion of someone I loved dearly. If this were a more serious topic, I could have developed a passion for something that I really knew nothing about it.

Dangerous waters…

This second set of people also mean well by telling you to ‘follow your heart’ and ‘do what feels right.’ Oh girls, this is such bad advice. Our feelings can be so fraudulent and our heart can become very tainted. There is a reason God tells us in Proverbs 4:23, “Above all else, guard your heart, for everything you do flows from it.” If your heart was not vulnerable, God would have no reason to issue this warning. There is a big difference between the feeling you get when you receive conviction from the Holy Spirit and a feeling that is present because of a current circumstance that can change with the wind. Pray that God will give you the discernment to know the difference. Learn to recognize those stirrings sweet gals.

image

Lastly, there was a particular time in my life that I would consider one of my longest stints of living in sin. During this time and certainly during other times too, I went to my friends who would validate me and who I knew would not contradict my feelings or motives. I deemed these people my ‘best friends’ because I could ‘tell them anything’ and they ‘would not judge me.’ Hear me out girls. There are two different types of people here. There is the friend who will not judge you, will love you, and will speak up and lead you away from sin and towards the truth. Then there is the friend who will not judge you, and who will cheer you on, leaving you stranded in your darkness. Only one of these friends has your best interest at heart. Matthew 7:15 warns us, “Watch out for false prophets. They come to you in sheep’s clothing, but inwardly they are ferocious wolves.”

Ladies, God isn’t the only one who puts people in your life. Satan will use people and circumstances to lead you astray. Know who your wise counsel are and place your trust in God and them alone.

Love to each of you <3.
Megan

Leave a Reply

