{Marriage} A Wise Alternative.

Written By: Mandy Hill

“Pray continually.” (1 Thessalonians 5:17)

image

More often than I wish to admit, I choose words of my flesh over words spoken in prayer. This is especially true in my marriage.

When my hubby and I disagree on something, my first instinct is to defend; using words. However, the bible says to …..”watch your words and hold your tongue; you’ll save yourself a lot of grief.” (Proverbs 21:23)

So, why not offer up a prayer instead?!…..whether it’s as simple as “Please help me, Jesus! I need Your wisdom in this situation,” or, something more lengthy; prayer in those moments is a much wiser alternative to speaking the words of our own flesh.

The bible also says this: “Watch the way you talk. Let nothing unwholesome come out of your mouth. Say only what helps, each word a gift.” (Ephesians 4:29)

Our natural instincts are to talk….I’m certain you’ve heard these sayings before: “Talk your way out of it”, “talk your way to the top!” etc. However, the bible has a lot to say about very carefully examining what we speak before any words leave our lips.

I was really thinking about this the other day and asked The Lord for a wise way to say less. Was it to listen more? Use less words? I felt him nudge my heart with our verse for today: “Pray continually.

As I pondered this verse, I was overwhelmed by what a different world we would live in if we all choose to “pray continually” instead of using so many of our own words. If every time a disagreement arose in my marriage and I prayed through it rather than taking on defence and seeking my own victorious ending; I believe the outcomes of those disagreements would be so much more peaceable.

Father God, thank You so much for blessing me with such a gracious husband! Thank You for loving me, even when I talk too much. I pray, Jesus, that these words will penetrate into my heart and become my new way of living; to pray continually. I pray also for my sisters, please guide their words and nudge their hearts to continually seek You rather than pull from the depths of their own flesh. We praise You and we desire so much more of You. Please fill us to overflowing. In Jesus name, amen.

One comment

Leave a Reply

